I Need to Hear From God…NOW

listen.jpg

Someone very close to me called me yesterday.

It was around lunch time – I had just finished a Chicken Pita from my favorite hole-in-the-wall lunch stop when my cell phone vibrated against my right hip.

“Hey, you got a minute?”

There are a few people in all of our lives that we would literally drop everything in their need time of need – he is one of mine.

“I need to hear from God now. I’m asking Him. I’m listening. But I just can’t tell what He is saying”.

His need was HUGE and immediate – literally 6 hours was all he had to make a decision that would affect the rest of his life.

After receiving the details download, I asked for 2 of those precious 6 hours to pray and process.

There is something that energizes my soul when I am forced to bring an urgent cry to my God, desperately needing Him and His guidance. Given too much time, my pragmatic tendency is to work through and derive an action plan. But given a complex issue and just 120 minutes drove me to my knees.

I asked, and God once again fulfilled His obligation to answer. The answer was clear. Why do I still sometimes doubt this prayer thing? I took the full 2 hours before hitting redial. He answered with expectation. I shared what I trust was Divine intervention. He thanked me – we exchanged our love for one another. The day continued.

The take away?

Who will you call when you need someone to stand with you in prayer?

Who will call you in their time of need and what are you doing to foster that trust and relationship?

Are you hearing Him when He speaks to you? If not, ask Him to help…He’s your Daddy.

* entries have been sporadic this week and may continue to be so thru mid October. Seems all of my creative juices and time are being diverted to my upcoming spiritual retreat (Tres Dias, October 11-14th). Thanks friends for checking in on me. All is well. Just feeling the pressure and deadlines.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda Rogers on September 28, 2007 at 8:42 PM

    Hi, I have been a Christian all my life and I have 2 teenage children. I am divorced and really working hard at raising them on my own. My daughter (age 14) said to me today that she didn’t think I was a Christian. This has really hurt. She said that she does not see me having any faith anymore. I wanted to rationalize this away tonight. I am sitting here in my home alone tonight, crying my heart out because of lonliness, and hearing her words echoing in my ears. I am wondering if there is a way that God can show Himself so real to me tonight that I can be sure that I am not just going through the motions of what I have been doing all my life, but that I am in His divine will and He is (in fact) a very real part of my life. Is there anything that you could suggest for me to do to get God to really really talk with me tonight?
    Sincerely,

  2. Posted by Shobitha Shaji on May 14, 2008 at 5:51 PM

    Hey Linda, I can in a way understand how you feel. There have been times when i have been put in situations where my faith has been tested and it was through God that I’ve gotten through everything. My situation was so bad that it got to a point to where i felt that i wast even christian anymore. Just to let you know I have felt the same way about my father many times and i have prayed about it. My father is a very hardworking man, which i have noticed you also are, from your letter. The reason she may have felt that way about you may have been the same reasons as mine. Your daughter may just feel for your struggles and may believe that those struggles may be derived from little faith. Thats how i felt about my dad, but god showed me slowly through my father’s actions that he is still faithful. To come to the point, well i’m going to explain how i feel, but God in my opinion doesnt work like that. He may not always give you an answer when you need it but you still need to have faith no matter what. He is continuously walking with and will always be with you. I can’t tell you what you can do tonight but pray. And thats all you can do. Just keep faith in him and i promise everything will be alright. I came to this site searching for answers, and by answering your question helped me to answer my own question. Oh, by the way God Wants You to Be Happy, I learned this from a book Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren. I dont mean anything by it as I’m suggesting this book to you but, i letting you know because its helped me and many people i know with our struggles. I hope i helped at least a little bit. I’ll keep you in my prayers.
    Shobitha
    p.s. You are never alone.

  3. Posted by Marylou Wolf on May 18, 2008 at 3:53 PM

    Dear friends,

    Ah trials. Your daughter sees your struggles in life and probably wonders why like my children right now” So, where is he?” Well if they are christians why aren’t they helping” and on and on….I feel very alone too. I feel the Holy Spirit sister but not 100 percent of the time. God is in you, and words like “i will pray for you work sometimes, sometimes you need action behind the prayer, hold my hand, help me meet a need etc.I need to hear from God so badly. We are now homeless yet a alot of friends remain silent….I just keep reading the bible,knowing it is God love letter to me…He will speak right to me through his word, sometimes others,but his word is the safest route for me right now. God bless you darling, please take comfort in knowing the when you don’t really know what to pray the Holy Spirit will pray for you….Keep us posted…please

  4. Posted by linda in colorado on September 20, 2008 at 10:17 AM

    linda, You mentioned you have been a christian all your life. What does that mean? Do you have a personal relationship with Jesus? Is there a defining moment that you excepted Jesus as your savior, asking for forgivness? The only way to the Father is thru the Son. Many times we confuse religion with salvation. I will pray for you and your family.

  5. THINKING I DID GOOD MY HOLE LIFE BUT IT WAS EVIL

  6. HELP IN THE NAME OF FSHS

  7. ANY WORDS WOULD HELP

  8. Posted by Adolphus mj manley on February 20, 2012 at 4:15 PM

    I am a christine. but I neet prayer.life not good with me in my home town kakata city margibi couny liberia .

  9. I want for God to with Me all time.

  10. Posted by salvador pena on March 7, 2012 at 2:30 PM

    im struggling so much right now….i do have a personnel relationship with my Lord…for now i will not budge until i know He has spoken to me in some way….and give me wisdom and guidance in my life….my whole life depends on this…..can you all please pray for me my name is Salvador

  11. Posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2012 at 10:57 PM

    My husband passed away 6 months ago. I miss him dearly. My heart is struggling with what took place when my husband and another individual where driving back to his home for the night..My husband died that night when they where in a car accident and the other lives. I am not certain of the truth and need GOD to give me a clear understanding.I want to handle all,the way GOD my father would handle it .I know that It was late and drinking was happening but after that I am not sure.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

