Hell Week and Love? – 1 Corinthians 13


I wish I had some romantic love story to relate to the 13th chapter of 1 Corinthians. After all, it’s all about love. But I have a motivating memory that I will never forget.

Hell Week.

I was a freshman at THE University of Florida (notice the emphasis on THE). I had pledged the Alpha Tau Omega fraternity. For a year I was a pledge – scrubbing fraternity house floors and bathrooms with toothbrushes, and doing other unmentionable disgusting “acts of service”. If a pledge makes it through the mental and physical hazing of the year, he gets to experience Hell Week – joy! This 7 days period is designed to separate the men from the boys. But here is where irony strikes. One of the activities during Hell week that each pledge had to do was to recite 1 Corinthians 13 by memory – and fast. Why fast?

With a match book in my left hand and a match in my right, I had to strike the match and hold it upright while it burned down towards my fingers. I could not blow it our until I had recited all 13 verses without error. It’s amazing how quick one can memorize when there is pain involved. To this day, when I read this chapter I think back to those burned fingers, but I will never forget the message:

Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love.

Lord, however we must learn this lesson, teach us that it is all about love…

2 responses to this post.

  1. makes you think doesn’t it

  2. At http://moneyboss.co.nr/ we are pleased to bring you the latest financial information, investment updates, life-changing budget advice, as well as insights into the Credit Counseling, Debt Settlement, and Debt Consolidation fields.

Leave a Reply

