Run Forrest…Run!


Forrest Gump: “That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a little run. So I ran to the end of the road. And when I got there, I thought maybe I’d run to the end of town. And when I got there, I thought maybe I’d just run across Greenbow County. And I figured, since I run this far, maybe I’d just run across the great state of Alabama. And that’s what I did. I ran clear across Alabama. For no particular reason I just kept on going.”

Unlike our friend Forrest, we have a reason and a place to run. In 2 Timothy 2 Paul tells Timothy to flee (or run) from youthful lusts (or sins). There are many lusts from which our greatest safety is to bolt. Here are a few:

– Impure thoughts
– Gossip
– Vain glory
– Popular applause
– Selfishness
– Over indulgence

All of us have our weak spots. To fight the good fight, we must avoid all occasions to sin – run! But unlike Forrest who had no idea where he was running to, the Bible tells us to flee the temptation and run to love, faith, and holiness. These are the excellent antidotes against youthful lusts. Holy love will cure impure lusts.

Someone once said: “The exciting of our graces will be the extinguishing of our corruptions; the more we follow that which is good the faster and the further we shall flee from that which is evil.”

Forrest Gump: What’s my destiny, Mama?
Mrs. Gump: You’re gonna have to figure that out for yourself. Life is a box of chocolates, Forrest. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Thank you Lord that with you:
we do know what we are gonna get – life eternal
we know why we run – to flee sin
and where we are running to – love, faith, and holiness.

Leave a Reply

