Red Letter Day…


I love vacations. I know – call me the master of the obvious, but the older I get the more I appreciate “the get-away”. After spending an incredible week away with just me and my bride I am refreshed and ready to meld back into my routine – if I could just remember how. As I finished my hazelnut coffee and whole grain bagel (renewed commitment to eating healthy) and got ready for my Bible read and journaling, I quickley realized – I had nothing! Still fighting off that vacation stupor I prayed – “Lord, I got nothing today, no inspiration, no insight, nothing”! But I pressed on into my routine, opened the laptop, clicked on Crosswalk.com, and typed in Luke 6 and BAM! There is was – Red Letters.

History – A red letter day is any day of special significance. The term originates from Medieval church calendars. Illuminated manuscripts often marked initial capitals and highlighted words in red ink, known as rubrics. Similarly on church calendars, saints days, feasts and other holy days were highlighted in red. Many current calendars have special dates and holidays such as Sundays, Christmas Day and Midsummer Day rendered in red color instead of black. On red letter days, judges of the English High Court (Queen’s Bench Division) wear, at sittings of the Court of Law, their scarlet robes.

We have been DBRAG’n (dailey Bible reading accountability group) for months now and today is the first day that the scripture contained Red Letters. I can’t even tell you what Jesus said in this chapter (I’ll reread later), but the fact that HE spoke and He was quoted gave me an overwhelming sense of peace and comfort this morning. Even though I disconnected for a week, He didn’t and will not ever take a holiday. He is there patiently waiting to speak into our lives – with red letters.

Take a look at a few of the lyrics from one of my favorite groups – Newsong:

Every day before the rush gets started
I get down on my knees
And I pray, Lord, I need You here to guide me
Please speak to me
And something happens that I can’t explain
His Word starts talking to me and
I’m out to face this world again

I do believe it’s gonna be another red letter day
It’s gonna be another red letter day
I do believe it’s gonna be another chance for me
To take His Word and walk by faith
I got a smile with every step I take
Knowing He is here with me
It’s gonna be a red letter day

I had a friend call me up and tell me
How he struggles through each day
I told him that I didn’t have all of the answers
This world’s a crazy place
But I’ve learned to hide God’s word in my heart
So I can have it with me when the pressures of the day start

Lord, thank you for speaking to us through your Word. Today is going to be another Red Letter Day.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pat Thomas on December 19, 2005 at 11:13 PM

    Roy, Good job. I’m sharing some of these with Katherine. Great writing!
    –Pat

  2. church calendars

    Interesting post. I came across this blog by accident, but it was a good accident. I have now bookmarked your blog for future use. Best wishes. Cara Wakelin.

Leave a Reply

