Of Fondue Forks and Counting to 3…


I don’t know why, year after year I choose to wait ’till the last possible week to BEGIN my Christmas shopping. And to make matters worse, my bride and I decided to go to the mall the last Saturday before Christmas Eve! But if there is anything redeeming from this chaotic situation (other than spending quality, loving time with my wife doing what she loves to do), it is the opportunity to watch the other poor souls battle the chaos as well.

Having majored in Sociology, I love people watching. Better yet, I love observing others in tense situations. Our responses to tension reveal so much about ourselves. My TIVO is set to record shows like Candid Camera, Punk’d, and Funniest Home Videos. As I stood in the corner of Williams and Sonoma waiting like a good husband for my wife to find just the right Apple Cinnamon Cider for our office party later that night, I observed a dad and his 4 year old son in a battle of wills. It went something like this: “Evan, if you don’t put down those fondue forks and come here right now you will get a spanking young man. EVAN! I’m going to count to three! 1…2…”
Been there? I have more than I care to recollect.

So as I dug into Luke 13 this morning and read the following parable, the parallel jumped off the pages.

Then he told them a story: “A man had an apple tree planted in his front yard. He came to it expecting to find apples, but there weren’t any. He said to his gardener, ‘What’s going on here? For three years now I’ve come to this tree expecting apples and not one apple have I found. Chop it down! Why waste good ground with it any longer?’ “The gardener said, ‘Let’s give it another year. I’ll dig around it and fertilize, and maybe it will produce next year; if it doesn’t, then chop it down.'”

This parable of the barren tree is intended to enforce a warning: the barren tree, unless it produces fruit, will be cut down. This parable in the first place refers to the nation and people of the Jews. Yet it is, without doubt, for awakening all that enjoy the means of grace, and the privileges of the visible church. It has been said that “When God has borne long, we may hope that he will bear with us yet a little longer, but we cannot expect that he will bear always.”

Are we producing fruit in our lives?
Is our church producing fruit in the lives of others?

Is God counting to 3 in your life right now? Make no mistake, there are definite consequences to the fact that He even has to begin the count. But should He get to 3…Ouch.

And to give you the rest of the story about little Evan and his weapon of choice, the fondue forks – once dad got to 3, Evan made his escape run through the crowd. Running forward while looking back at his closing father, he rammed into the
backside of a rather “heavy” lady, forks first…If I only had my video camera.

Today Lord, may we lose ourselves to be found in you.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hey Hook,
    I just started blogging (rookie) so I thought I would post (it seems difficult when no one acknowledges all your good work). So I just wanted to encourage you. I also enjoy men’s ministry but you see we could never be brothers because I like Kawasaki’s (Nomad’s to be exact). Just started riding with our church group this summer. Enjoy your harley, drive safe, and keep writing…you are blessed by God in your short stories/reflection.

    Well done, thus far, good a faithful servant.

  2. This post has been removed by the author.

Leave a Reply

