Game On…


I’m not sure why little (and big) boys are drawn to battle games, but I nearly lost more than a game some 30 years ago.

The battle lines were drawn, the mud ball fight to define my machismo was about to begin. My uncle Todd, who is only 3 years my elder (long story) was behind his bunker and I behind mine. We were well within throwing distance of each other. I can remember having a dozen or so rounded soft clay balls ready for launch. That is where my memory stops, just after I stood for my first throw. WHAM! I took a direct hit to my face, more specifically my right eye, and went down. The next thing I remember is waking up in the middle of the night completely disoriented, in a pitch black room (we were visiting my grandparents home in Texas when this happened). Overnight my eye had hemorrhaged and I lost complete vision in my right eye. For the next 10 minutes I frantically searched for the light, any light to help me find my way out of the room. The darkness overwhelmed me.

The Holy Spirit bright to mind the memory as I read John chapter 1. “And the life was the light of men…”.
The life which was in, and by the word, was, with respect to men, a life of light, or a life attended with light. This is not a mere vision faculty, receptive of the sun’s light, but rational knowledge and understanding. For when Christ, breathed into man the breath of life and he became a living soul, He filled him with rational light and knowledge. That night in the dark bedroom, I wasn’t really searching for a switch, I was searching for comfort and peace and the assurance that I was going to be ok.

And the light shines in darkness…?
Which, through sin, fell upon us as descendants of Adam. We are naturally in the dark about:

– the nature and perfections of God
– sin, and the consequences of it
– Christ, and salvation by him
– the Spirit of God, and his work upon the soul
– and about the Scriptures of truth, and the doctrines of the Gospel, just to name a few.

Man was created a knowing creature, but, not content with his knowledge, sins, and is banished from the presence of God, the fountain of light. This brought a darkness on him, and our sin today only worsens the darkness.

But praise God that His light prevails in us and through us. The darkest recesses of our soul can be illuminated and healed by His light. Perhaps 2006 will be the year that invite the light into the dark closets of our lives.

The rest of the battle story – after weeks of laying completely still on my back and then about a year of doctor visits I regained complete vision in my right eye. To this day I still love and participate in battle games. You can take the boy out of the fight, but you cant take the fight out of the boy. The only difference is that today I wear protective glasses..Wisdom I guess.

Come Holy Spirit and shine your light of truth though us today.

Leave a Reply

