Today, I lost my buddy

It was a typical Wednesday evening. I had gotten home from work, kissed my sun burned wife and girls, patted my 2 dogs on their heads, and sat down for a few minutes of R&R.

Must have been 15 minutes later I heard the scream “Dad, come quick”! For some reason I waited, wanting to be sure I heard what I thought I heard. Then again, shrieks and cries – the kind that every parent knows is not a play cry. I shot out of my chair and headed out my front door to find my youngest and my bride cradling my dog, Zack. He had been hit by a truck in front of our house. It was one of those surreal moments.

As I approached my buddy I could see that it wasn’t good. My wife and daughter and Zack looking up at me, each wanting me to do something. You see, Zack was MY buddy. I am blessed to live in a house hold of 5 females. Me and my buddy held a monopoly on testosterone. Many a day I would return home from work, take the temperature of the hormonal household, and head out to the garage, me and Zack. We spent a simple evening together hanging out where guys hang out – in the garage…a closed door away from the drama trauma inside. My buddy also protected my princesses. He had a HUGE bark which was really just his greeting to anyone approaching our home – I never told his secret.

But today was the end of Zack’s life. We had a great 8 years together. As I scooped up my buddy and laid him in the back of my truck, on his favorite blanket, I looked at my wife and daughter. It is hard being the daddy sometimes. It took everything I had not to want to run back in the house and curl up in my bed, pretending that this horrible day didn’t happen. Some 30 minutes later the Vet came out to the waiting room to tell me that my buddy’s wounds were fatal. Tonight we held a family meeting. We talked about what a good dog Zack had been. I was on the brink of tears when my youngest said “It’s ok dad, Zack is not hurting anymore and he is in Heaven.” Now I’m not sure about the theological correctness of my daughter’s loving assurance, but it comforted this hurting soul.

Today, I lost my buddy and boy do I miss him…

10 responses to this post.

  1. Hook – I’m truley sorry for your loss! My friend & I were just talking about how we are GLAD we are not the Men in our house – because they have to do all the “hard” things. She had a cat that had been hit by a car this morning and her hubby had to “do the deed”.

    We have 2 dogs & 4 kids also. Our oldest “kid” is our Dalmation, Valentine. She turned 10 in Jan. Even though I may gripe & complain about her – I’ll be lost when she’s gone.

  2. Hook – I’m truley sorry for your loss! My friend & I were just talking about how we are GLAD we are not the Men in our house – because they have to do all the “hard” things. She had a cat that had been hit by a car this morning and her hubby had to “do the deed”.

    We have 2 dogs & 4 kids also. Our oldest “kid” is our Dalmation, Valentine. She turned 10 in Jan. Even though I may gripe & complain about her – I’ll be lost when she’s gone.

  3. I’m so sorry. I don’t know if you were reading my blog as yet when I posted about the relationship I have with my dog, but as aggrivated as I get with him at times I would still be heart broken to lose him. I pray that God speeds the healing of your sorrow.

  4. Forgive my spelling errors. I’m still not a hundred percent so I don’t catch them as readily. (Why does it even bother me? Because I’m a teacher and I am held to a “higher standard” ~ even though English is not my area of expertise.)

  5. thanks all – it really hurts to lose Zack, and I’m a little like you Libby – not a HUGE animal fan. Maybe this is a way the Holy Spirit is softening my heart some more. Both of your words of comfort have been a blessing. I know Libby’s name, but I don’t thing your name is the 6 karns 🙂

  6. Libby – I cant get into your husbands blog for some reason. I have a Mac, could that be an issue?

  7. Sorry – I’m Amber. Husband Shawn.

  8. Sorry – I’m Amber. Husband Shawn.

  9. Blogger has been acting weird lately so that may be the issue, but here is the url for Darrell’s site. Maybe it will work if you go there directly.

    http://thedawghowse.blogspot.com/

    Make sure to spell “howse” with a “w” or you will get the wrong site. BTW the name for Darrell’s site comes from a nickname he got from his initials~DWG. Just thought I might explain such an unusual name for a pastor’s blog site. Then again, my husband isn’t the “typical” pastor.

  10. Posted by Anonymous on March 24, 2006 at 1:56 PM

    Hi Hook,

    My name is Shawn I’m Amber’s husband. I’m sorry you lost your buddy. I don’t normally comment on these things but since you were getting comments from women only I thought I should chime in. It is tough to lose anything you love and tougher still to be tough during those times. But according to His word God loves everything He creates. He said it was good. That includes your pal Zack. It’s okay to be sad. Your honoring the memory the memory of your buddy

    Shawn,

Leave a Reply

