Booty Dancin’ ??? – Exodus 19

I knew it was inevitable – I’m a dad of 4 girls!

This year was our first experience with a four letter word that makes dad’s of daughters everywhere shudder – PROM. The hair, the dress, the nails, the shopping, the plans, oh my. Up until now I had only experienced prom (and pre-prom) from the other side, as a member of the other team. We guys are lucky enough to remember the date of the prom much less what we are wearing and all of those details.

Fortunately this was a group thing. No one had a date, it was a herd mentality – I like that – safety, built in boundaries. And here is the best part, my wife and I were asked to be chaperones – yeeeeees! My daughter was probably not thrilled, but we really made an effort to give her space. So at the chaperone pre prom meeting, just minutes before the doors opened, we got our instructions. I’ve got a silly sense of humor – one that rolls the eyes of my bride daily. So I couldn’t help myself when the elder chaperone coordinator instructed us to watch out for “booty dancing”. Booty dancing? Some 25 years ago I remember The Bump, but booty dancing? I couldn’t stop the question, I raised my hand and asked, “I’m not sure what that is, would you demonstrate?” This elicited laughs from the other men and a sharp elbow to my ribs from my wife. But what our leader was doing was establishing boundaries. It wasn’t too long into the evening that when the appropriate beat thumped through the speakers that I found out what booty dancing was…and I was quick to separate the guilty.

Boundaries. I praise God for them, they keep us safe. As I read in Exodus this morning, God established severe boundaries for Moses and his people. Chapter 19 verse 12 – “Post boundaries for the people all around, telling them, ‘Warning! Don’t climb the mountain. Don’t even touch its edge. Whoever touches the mountain dies – a certain death.”

I can identify – any young man that tried to “booty dance” my princess would have died a certain death Friday night.

Set boundaries – Probably Moses drew a line around the foot of the hill, which none were to pass or they would die! What a reminder about the tremendous reverence which ought to possess the minds of all of us that worship God. Also, the distance which worshippers were kept should make us more value our privilege under the gospel, having boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus. John Wesley said “We are mean creatures before a great Creator, vile sinners before a holy righteous Judge; and therefore a godly fear and shame well become us.”

In Dr. Cloud’s book “Boundaries” he writes “Many sincere, dedicated believers struggle with tremendous confusion about if it is biblically appropriate to set limits. Attempting to serve the Lord and die to self as Jesus modeled, Christians try hard, are nice, and help others out – but their unproductive energy, fearful niceness, and responsibility point to the core problem: they suffer from severe difficulties in taking ownership of their own lives.”

When confronted about our lack of boundaries, we must consider the following:

  • Can I set limits and still be a loving person?
  • What are legitimate boundaries?
  • What if someone is upset or hurt by my boundaries?
  • How do I answer someone who wants my time, love, energy, or money?
  • Why do I feel guilty or afraid when I consider setting boundaries?
  • How do boundaries relate to submission?
  • Aren’t boundaries selfish?
  • Is it difficult for me to hear no from other people?
  • Do I tend to want to control other people when I don’t get what I want?

Boundaries. We must live within them. You know where the line is. If you are like me, you approach the line all to often – toes almost touching the line. It is drawn for a reason – cross it and the consequences are severe. Over time the boundary line fades – sin blurs right from wrong and turns things grey. Take a moment to reassess your boundaries. The Holy Spirit is ready and willing to show you where you are safe and where there is danger.

I miss The Bump…

One response to this post.

  1. Amen, Amen, Amen! There have to be boundarys in our lives as Christians that we refuse to let anyone cross. We must stand firm in the faith. So many times, we are known as “nice little Christians” that people think they can walk on. We weren’t given a spirit of timidity! Let’s stick to the boundary’s we establish. Oh yeah, for the first pimple faced kid that even looked at my daughter’s booty, I’d have killed him too……

Leave a Reply

