When Harry Met Sally


As I completed the Blogger Profile the question read:

“Your Favorite Movie?”

That was an easy one for me. The year was 1989 – a milestone year – graduated college and got engaged to my princess. The movie was When Harry Met Sally. I loved the playful witty banter between Harry (Billy Crystal) and Sally (Meg Ryan). And the soundtrack is still my all time favorite.

Story line:

Harry and Sally meet when she gives him a ride to New York after they both graduate from the University of Chicago. The film jumps through their lives as they both search for love, but fail, bumping into each other time and time again. Finally a close friendship blooms between them, and they both like having a friend of the opposite sex. But then they are confronted with the problem: “Can a man and a woman be friends, without (a relationship) getting in the way?”

Here is one of my favorite exchanges:


Harry:
There are two kinds of women: high maintenance and low maintenance.
Sally: Which one am I?
Harry: You’re the worst kind. You’re high maintenance but you think you’re low maintenance.

When Harry Met Sally is really just a classic Woody Allen styled romantic comedy. But woven through out this movie was Harry and Sally’s journey of self discovery. Each one helped the other.

This past weekend I heard a prayer that reminded me of Sally. It went something like this:

“Lord, we pray for the one who needs you the most and for the one who thinks she needs you the least”.

I have been both, and given the choice I’d rather be the one who needs Him them most. When I think I need Him the least is when I am most vunerable to the attacks of the enemy. Actually, this position usually precedes the season of when I need Him the most. As I continue to read through the book of Exodus, Moses was a man who recognized his utter dependence on God. He understood who he was and more importantly who he was not.

Lord, help us today embrace our dependence on you. Amen.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tasha Levine on May 2, 2006 at 1:40 PM

    hello mr. roy, this is so true that we should lean on the lord for everything, and not be vounerable , by thinking we are not. what an odd concept. and i do need him all day every day. we all do. you should write a book!!! keep up the good work of writing what jesus tells you. and for being a great example for all of us to have and look up to. 🙂

    love, Tasha

  2. Tasha,

    I love the Jesus I see in you. YOU keep growing in His love and grace! He has big plans for you and I can’t wait to see what they are!

    Mr. R.

  3. We tend to see the short comings of others readily yet miss our own. That is why it is so important to pray, “Lord if there is anything in me that needs to be removed or changed, show me and prune me.” OUCH! Pruning hurts! (been there, done that… many times) But just like a plant, you’re stronger and more beautiful in the end.

Leave a Reply

