Fresh Out Of Blues…


The Blues…

Can come in many different packages. My youngest (starting waaaaay too early this summer) began to sing her 10 year old blues. You know the familiar summer song – “Mom and Dad, there is nothing to do…I’m bored.”

I’m not too sure what prompted me to chase this rabbit trail, but here is what I found:

From Wikipedia – The blues is a vocal and instrumental form of music based on a pentatonic scale and a characteristic twelve-bar chord progression. The form evolved in the United States slaves from spirituals, praise songs, field hollers, shouts, and chants. The blues has been a major influence on later American and Western popular music, finding expression in ragtime, jazz, bluegrass, rhythm and blues, rock and roll, hip-hop, and country music, as well as conventional pop songs.

Blues Brothers (1980):

After the release of Jake Blues from prison, he and brother Elwood go to visit the old home where they were raised by nuns. They learn the church stopped its support and will sell the place to the education authority, and the only way to keep the place open is if the $5000 tax on the property is paid within 11 days. The brothers want to help and decide to put their blues band back together and raise the the money by staging a big gig. As they set off on their “mission from God” they seem to make more enemies along the way. Will they manage to come up with the money in time?

Blue Moon Lyrics – Sha-Na-Na (I miss Bowzer)

Blue moon, you saw me standing alone
Without a dream in my heart, without a love of my own
Blue moon, you knew just what I was there for
You heard me saying a prayer for someone
I really could care for
And then suddenly appeared before me,
the only one my arms could ever hold
I heard somebody whisper ‘please adore me’
But when I looked, that moon had turned to gold –
oh oh oh Blue moon, now I’m no longer alone
Without a dream in my heart, without a love of my own
Without a love of my own (Blue moon)

Common Saying – Once in a Blue Moon:

A way of saying not very often, but what exactly is a Blue Moon? According to the popular definition, it is the second Full Moon to occur in a single calendar month. The average interval between Full Moons is about 29.5 days, whilst the length of an average month is roughly 30.5 days. This makes it very unlikely that any given month will contain two Full Moons, though it does sometimes happen. On average, there will be 41 months that have two Full Moons in every century, so you could say that once in a Blue Moon actually means once every two-and-a-half years.

Feeling Blue?

If you are sad and describe yourself as “feeling blue,” you are using a phrase coined from a custom among many old deepwater sailing ships. If the ship lost the captain or any of the officers during its voyage, she would fly blue flags and have a blue band painted along her entire hull when returning to home port.

Ephesians 6 reminded me that as a Christian I am to do all things without grumbling or complaining – as if I am doing it for our Lord (because in reality, everything we do is for the Lord). Verse 7 – “And work with a smile on your face, always keeping in mind that no matter who happens to be giving the orders, you’re really serving God.”

“Smile on your face”
– expressing his feeling towards his master; as “doing the will of God from the heart” expresses the source of that feeling – a good will which not even a master’s severity can extinguish.

Tomorrow we leave for our family vacation. About this time every year I long for some sand time in the Keys. When I pack tonight I can promise you that no Blues will make their way into my suitcase. My challenge will be to help my kids pack the same way.

Thank you Lord for reminding me that in light of eternity, we as believers in Jesus Christ are FRESH OUT OF BLUES.

One response to this post.

  1. Awesome post! Praying for travelling mercy for you and your family! Looking forward to reading your posts when you get back.

Leave a Reply

