Of Tips and Toes…

Lesson learned from a pedicure.

No coincidence really, the fact that our Bible reading has taken us to the book of Proverbs. There is no greater book in the Bible that imparts wisdom and encouragement for the journey. Point in case, verse 6 of chapter 3 – “Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.”

Saturday I was off track.

It was finally the day that my bride was returning. We would pick her up at the airport at 4:45 pm. That gave us most of the day to ready the house for her return. Saturday was also the the day that 2 of my 4 girls woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Now I am trained and well versed in handling 1 hormonal young lady at a time out of the 4, but never, under these circumstances, have I had to daddy two – this was a new blessing. All morning was spent washing and folding laundry and other typical household chores that mom would expect of us – thus the first layer of tension was laid. Then my 13 year old CC tells me, “dad, I lost my cell phone yesterday at Busch Gardens”. Ok, here comes the 2nd layer.

So we head out to the airport, mis-time our schedule and get there with 2 hours to spare. “Hey dad, lets go to the mall!” – third layer. First stop in the mall is a Verizon Mobile store to figure out the lost cell phone mess. Little did I know that my CC has got a good mad working at me for my reaction to her news and is uncooperative in my conversation with the sales rep. You know those awkward moments when you want to bring correction to your child but you are engaged with others? – fourth layer. About that time my 3rd daughter Bailey drops her HUGE coke in the middle of the Verizon store and it goes everywhere. All the sales reps look at me – I look at Bay – she shrugs her shoulders. OOOK, that’s it. Dad has had enough. Not sure where we are going, but we are GOING! Now I have a good mad working and a quick pace towards the exit with 2 teens and 2 preteens trying to keep up.

that’s when I heard Him – you know, from Proverbs – Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; He’s the one who will keep you on track. My “daddy wheels” were now way off track. The last store within the mall before the exit was a Nail Shop. That still small voice stopped me in my tracks and pushed me 90 degrees to the right. “Girls, how about a pedicure?” Coincidently (wink wink) they had 4 chairs open and up jumped my 4 girls. Must be a female thing, because their moods improved immediately! Some 30 minutes later, one by one they came to me to show me their toes, and to give me a big hug. I even got a couple “I’m sorry dad” hugs.

Hmmm. Another mystery of the female kind. I’m not really sure what happened in those oversized chairs in the Nail Shop on Saturday, but I do know that His promise in Proverbs helped this dad get his wheels back on track. The cell phone is still lost, thank God mom is back home, and our 4 girls now have very pretty toes…such is life.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rob on July 3, 2006 at 10:58 AM

    Like David……………from one extreme to the other in a matter of minutes! Only because you were listening! Thanks Roy!

  2. A real man is not afraid of going to the nail salon or of buying female products by himself. I guess we are real men? Great post bro!

Leave a Reply

