“No More Rules !!!”


Must have been around midnight.

Last night my two oldest and one of their friends who was sleeping over woke me from a David Lettermen induced sleep to tell me that our house had just been TP’d. We have a few VERY understood rules between me, my girls, and their rascally friends:

1. Do not destroy anyone’s property when pranking.
2. When you think of a really good prank – call me, I’ll drive.
3. While its funny to leave for work in the morning and admire the overnight handiwork, it better be completely cleaned up by the time my Yukon roles back into the driveway after work.

I knew that last night was a possible prank night – I caught wind of a boys sleepover. Boys do not have sleepovers unless pranks are involved. Earlier in the evening we were shuttling a few friends home when they told me a story about one of the alleged perpetrators. Now this young man is a really good kid – one of my favorites. Riding down the major thoroughfare in Tampa with a friend of his, the electricity went out, all over that part of the city – even the stop lights went dark. Almost on cue he raises up out of the sun roof, throws his arms in the air, and shouts “No More Rules!!!”

Rules – even as an adult there are times that I hate rules. But as I read Proverbs chapter 6 this morning, I was gently reminded of the importance of guidance in our lives:

“Good friend, follow your father’s good advice; don’t wander off from your mother’s teachings. 21 Wrap yourself in them from head to foot; wear them like a scarf around your neck. 22 Wherever you walk, they’ll guide you; whenever you rest, they’ll guard you; when you wake up, they’ll tell you what’s next. 23 For sound advice is a beacon, good teaching is a light, moral discipline is a life path.”

Thank you Lord that you love us enough to give us rules and boundaries to live within. Left unchecked, the TP of life makes such a mess.

Leave a Reply

