Me and My Tie…


I am sporting a strange strip of colorful fabric tied snugly around my neck this morning.

This formal business attire is new for me. Business causal has been our industry norm for the past 5 years and since moving to a more contemporary church, my ties have hung lonely.

But today I meet with the Headmaster from a local Christian school. I’m not changing professions (until I hear that instruction from Him), but God is stirring something in my heart. It all began to take shape 2 years ago when I was challenged with a very simple faith truth – “Expect God to do something amazing in your life, today!” At first glance I thought, yada-yada, I know, I know. But the more I practice this discipline of expectation, the more I see Him doing His amazing thing – everyday! Oh, He didn’t just begin to do His thing because I decided to begin to look for Him. He has been in the AMAZING business for thousands of years. It just took me some 37 years to catch on to the discipline of Expectation.

So me and my tie have a 10:30 am meeting with Berean Academy. I yielded my life to His purpose few years ago, and it was as if my eyes were opened to an incredible journey. Proverbs 16 verse 9 “A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps.” The details of what may or may not happen today are not important. What is important is this truth – His purpose for our lives are revealed to us each day. We must learn to expect God to do something HUGE in our lives, and then actively look for it! It is happening, even as you read this crazy little blog originating from some cafe in Florida. Perhaps God is trying to tell you something in your own life.

What we get from God is equal to or less than our expectations of Him.

So this great adventure continues. Today, me and my tie are following the strange instructions of the Holy Spirit. I am expecting God to do something amazing today – I am on the lookout. Ask Him to show you what He is doing in and around you right now. He will show you, He wants you to join in!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Snazzy!!!! I am not a tie person….. The last tie I wore was to a job interview about two years ago.

    Anyway, I know for a fact that you are intune with the Spirit and you are doing the right thing by listening. Remember a while back when we urged each other on? I appreciated it then and now.

    I’ll be praying for your meeting right now! It is currently 10:30 and I am on my knees in prayer for you. Let me know how it all turns out and what God teaches you!!

  2. Good stuff, Hook. It’s always an adventure with God at the helm!

Leave a Reply

