Feed the Homeless – Go To Jail

Feed the homeless, go to jail!

What???

If someone looks like he could use a meal, be warned: Giving him a sandwich in a Las Vegas park could land you in jail. The Las Vegas City Council passed an ordinance Wednesday that bans providing food or meals to the homeless.

The measure is an attempt to stop so-called “mobile soup kitchens” from operating in parks. But one advocate who feeds the homeless at the park said she will continue to do so. “I’m going to do whatever I think is necessary to keep people alive,” said Gail Sacco. “They’re trying to figure out ways of making homeless invisible or kicking them out of our community.”

Admittedly, the Holy Spirit has been changing my heart on this issue. A few years ago I may have secretly cheered this move. My old heart would reveal that I thought of the homeless as an annoyance, a blight to the city. I’m ashamed to even type that, but it’s true. It took spending 2 weeks on the streets of New York to break this hardened heart. We all know that some of God’s kids are homeless for legit and illiget reasons. But who am I to make that judgment? God will sort out their lives. They will have to give an account just like we will.

This nationwide move to hide and remove the homeless is not isolated to just Las Vegas. In downtown Manhattan, the homeless are swept off the street and removed to “the end of the line”. That phrase comes from the practice of city officials giving the homeless train tokens for the “R” train that will take them to the end of the train tracks in the Bronx. As you can imagine, this recently created community would break your heart if you spent any time there. For those homeless that remain in the city, once darkness falls they must remain on the doorsteps of a church. There they may exist for the night.

Now I am not a bleeding heart liberal, in fact politically, socially, and economically I’m just the opposite. But I’m a believer first and the Bible is clear. If I want my God to hear my cries, then I better attend to His kids cries who are down and out. Proverbs 13 states “If you stop your ears to the cries of the poor, your cries will go unheard, unanswered.”

The Las Vegas city council unanimously passed the ordinance.

Lord, today I pray for eyes to see your kids in need, and to see them though your eyes. Then please give me the courage to help them.

2 responses to this post.

  1. wow! the world is coming to a frightful place. Lack of love , or compassion. Thats very scary, that you can get throw in jail for showing the very compassion that this world needs. Lets keep doing our part to further Gods kingdom!!! and helping in every single way to show love to the lost, and to Gods people. Because theyre people with souls, and they need jesus, wow. Thats just so sad how money and status is everything..

    Always, -Tasha

  2. I wouldn’t expect anything else from Las Vegas. But really…we do need to check ourselves and see if we are on that council in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

