Baddest Rock Wall in the World!

I spent this weekend driving 3 of my 4 girls to the Vineyard Camp in North Carolina. This is our 6th year of sending some combination of our girls, and for the ones that go, the experience lasts the whole year. It will be the predominant dinner table conversation for months.

As we drove away from our home on Saturday morning I told my girls that I had a surprise for them. Now they are addicted to adventure just like their dad, and I had located the biggest, baddest rock climbing wall between Florida and North Carolina. The anticipation of the climb (combined with 6 Blockbuster movies) helped the journey move along at a good pace.

My South Carolina buddy Randy was so right. The wall was HUGE. The 4 of us walked up to it in awe. It was the biggest baddest climbing wall “in the world” as my youngest proclaimed. So I paid $9 for each of my 3 daredevils to get in line.

Now there is something down deep inside of this dad that loves the fact that his girls are risk takers. They love the thrill. And as I took my observation seat, word pictures were drawn at rapid pace.

1. The abundant life that we are promised in Christ is a life that’s meant to be lived, risks and all.

2. Before you begin, you must tighten your straps. Putting on the armor of God came to mind, from the proper shoes to the secure harness – all necessary for the battle.

3. Those that have gone before us can help us begin the climb to increase our success. They young guys gave my girls pointers as to where to grab first and what part of the wall to stay away from.
Proverbs 24:6
Strategic planning is the key to warfare; to win, you need a lot of good counsel.
It was a powerful picture of what true discipleship could be.

4. You can be strapped up and full of info, but YOU must take the first step. Once the preparation was complete, they had to approach the giant wall and begin the assent.

5. Wisdom and careful strategy beats brute strength everyday. My 10 year old was up and down the wall before Mr. Atlas who was climbing next to her. He tried to out muscle the wall.
Proverbs 24:5 – It’s better to be wise than strong; intelligence outranks muscle any day.

6. Mis-steps will happen. A few times all 3 of my girls lost their grip and fell away from the wall, but the ropes helped reposition them. Sometimes they lost the progress they were making and had to begin again. The safety rope of Grace will catch you. Don’t give up. Keep climbing.

7. When you reach the top and ring the bell, the cheers from the crowd below will not compare to the 7 words spoken over you by your Heavenly Father – “Well done, my good and faithful servant”.

All 3 made it to the top and I seized this teaching moment as we walked away from the wall. I’m not sure I got through to them though, my only feed back was “Yea, ok dad – can we get some ice cream?”

Such is the journey…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Man, God was speaking and you were listening! Awesome bro!

    Where was the wall? I’ll have to check it out sometime.

  2. Posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2006 at 5:21 PM

    That rock wall was soo much fun Dad I LOVED IT !!! Thanks for taking us to dicks and too camp I LOVE YOU !!!!

    Bailey

  3. Posted by Bailey on August 2, 2006 at 5:22 PM

    I love you

Leave a Reply

