Not My Swimming Pool !!!


It was finally going to be one of those nights at home with no plans. They don’t come around this place very often. But with 3/4’s of my girls away at camp it has been kinda quiet around here.

Minutes after I had settled into my favorite R&R spot, my bride says to me “lets be spontaneous tonight” – I hope my inner “uhhggg” didn’t make it out of my mouth! “Let’s take Mackenzie (our oldest) and her boyfriend to a movie!” Not just any movie, but the suspensful and scary Lady In The Water flick.

I don’t do scary movies. I am man enough to admit that paying money to have the fool scared out of me is the last thing I enjoy doing. I know what these kinds of movies do to me. I have even claimed Proverbs 26:11

As a dog eats its own vomit, so fools recycle silliness.

I know better! But they wore me down, I couldn’t resist their big blue and brown eyes batting a repetitive “pleeaasseeeee”. I’d feel like such a heel if I didn’t give in. So in agreeing to go, I struck a deal to see some other movie…or so I thought.

Even though my ticket stub read ” My Super Ex Girlfriend”, the 3 of them had a plan. Both movies started at 8pm, and both were showing side by side. Now this boyfriend thing is new to me, but I really like this young man – but he was suckered into their plot to see the scary movie (I’m not sure if it was his choice, or his machismo working overdrive – I’ve been there at his age and don’t blame him one bit) but once the two females had him on their side, I was done. Mackenzie finished me off with a “dad, I double dog dare you, are you man enough?”

I saw the trailers for this movie – it looked creepy. It took me some 20 years to recover from Jaws, and this one was messing with something I love – my swimming pool! Some pale faced creepy lady could live under the drain in my pool? Greaaat…now I’m going to have to brush down my pool before I jump in.

So the 4 of us took our seats and I began my mental preparation to get me thought the next one hour and fifty minutes. Lady in the Water is a complex, fantasy-filled bedtime story. Fairy tales work best when they suck you into their world and make you a part of the fantasy. There, you see the wonders unfold. You step through the wardrobe…Travel to Mordor… Or skip along the yellow brick road. On these journeys you discover the complexities and personalities of these fantastic worlds by experiencing them. By walking these tales, the complicated myths become real and understood.

M. Night Shyamalan (born Manoj Nelliyattu Shyamalan, on August 6, 1970 in Pondicherry, India) is the screen writer and director. He is best known for his work on a few of my favorite movies – The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs, and The Village. The wonderful message at the core of Shyamalan’s tale is that everyone has a purpose. You may not know what it is or that you even have a gift, but you do. And too many of us spend our lives hiding from it or searching in vain. Lady’s idea of searching for your purpose in life not only has similarities to the biblical notions of gifts and the body of Christ, but also hints at the idea that we are part of a larger world. We don’t really know our part in a greater story, but we must have faith that it is there. The Lady, whos name is Story says, “Man thinks he is alone in this … but you are connected.”

After the movie we headed to Starbucks for a few Carmel Macchiatos and a movie debrief. I acted tough, deniying the fact that my eyes were closed during the scary parts. They all had a good laugh at my expense, but thats ok, I can handle (and deserved) it.

Replaying the movie as I was locking up the house before bed, I glanced out my back door towards my pool – my pitch black dark water pool. Looking over both shoulders to make sure I was not being watched I walked out on my back patio and peaked over my pool’s edge…DANG – no more night swimming for me for at least 20 years.

One response to this post.

  1. Great Post! Isn’t it fun to see what God teaches you through day to day life! This was a good example of it when you talked about how Shyamalan loves to show every character’s gift and purpose in all of his movies. I am a huge fan of him for that. But, where you live, I’d be more worried about gators than a lady in the pool. Thanks Bro!

Leave a Reply

