A Tribute To – My Lil’ Sister


Tribute Series…part 2

To the outside world we all grow old. But not to brothers and sisters. We know each other as we always were. We know each other’s hearts. We share private family jokes. We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys. We live outside the touch of time. ~Clara Ortega

I know the year, even the day. It was the moment that I praised God for having a little sister. Now it was for all the wrong reasons, but He even uses those to work His plan. Her name was Sherry, I was in 9th grade and she was a bit younger, a friend of my little sis. I thought she was cute and had a freshman crush on her. But I never really had the courage to even engage her in small talk. And then my lil’ sister did me the favor of a lifetime – she invited Sherry to her Friday night slumber party. Now, being the smooth operator that I was, I could not have embarrassed myself more that night trying to impress my sister’s friends. But I was the envy of every teen boy in my 9th grade class – all of the cute girls from our class at my house for a sleep over? A teenage boy’s dream come true! Up until that night I subscribed to the old Vietnamese Proverb – Brothers and sisters are as close as hands and feet. But after that night, things began to change.

How do people make it through life without a sister? I treasure my role as her big brother. I guess the role of protector is part of the job description as a big brother – some 25 years later I still can get a good mad going when I recall a certain event. As every good big brother does, while minding my own business, I was eaves dropping on one of her phone calls to some boy (I can even still remember his name) when he began to tell her off – cuss words and all. I had to make a split second decision, do I maintain my stealth position or blow my cover and blast him – I blasted him. Something rose up within me…that was my little sister that he was speaking to. Truth be told, it was that very moment that I began to embrace my God appointed position in her life.

A sister is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost. ~Marion C. Garretty

Suzanne, from where I sit and observe (since I can’t listen in on your chats anymore) I see a woman of God whom I love and respect with all of my heart. I am so proud to be your brother. That sounds so cliche, but please see through the surface and into my heart – I am so blessed by God to call you my sister.

It’s hard to be a responsible, sensible adult all the time. I am so lucky to have a sister whose heart is as young as mine. You brighten up every room, your smile is contagious. Your heart for your ministry to “family” is a model for us all. Your giftings of leadership and creativity are a blessing to the body of Christ. Your tender heart allows for the Holy Spirit to freely flow through you. Your sense of humor is twisted, just like mine, and I love that about you. You teach me how to live by embracing life with tears and laughs, sometimes at the same time. You show me what feminine strength looks like.

I’ve heard it said that you keep your past by having sister. As you get older, they’re the only ones who don’t get bored if you talk about your memories. Here are a few of mine:

– pigtales and ruffle panties (but enough about me)

– long car trips with a strip of tape separating my side of the backseat from yours

– boogie board surfing at the beach

– your parasail adventure – a very unique take off

– your parties at our house when mom and dad were gone (don’t worry, they don’t read this)

– the 2 special days when you made me an uncle

– watching our kids play in the snow

– always knowing that you are just a phone call away

You, Suzanne Paige, are a princess of the King. You have a special calling on your life. When He thinks of you, He spins around joyfully. Funny, I do that too, just not nearly as gracefully. Your big brother loves you.

Thank you God for blessing me with my little sister.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Once again, you have made me tear up because I too have a sister that I love like this. When you think about it, your siblings are always going to be your closest realatives. You share the same dna and memories. Loved the post bro!

  2. just browsing through your past posts, I was a little sister to four older brothers, of which only two are left..one is close proximity wise and the other lives about 400 miles away. I keep in touch with the oldest as much as possible, but the one that lives here in my town I see almost daily and we hang pretty tight..your post got to me too.

  3. I LOVE your Posts…especially this one..
    I dont have any brothers but as a sister, it’s always great too to have sisters :-]

  4. I’m WAY behind, but HOW sweet! Suz does pretty much rock šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

