Family Night…


My family are all slaves to a crazy-busy schedule. If we are not intentional, the winds of busyness blow us in 6 different directions. So as the new school year begins and routine returns (hooray) we have scheduled a family night twice a month. I wish it could be once a week, but that’s just not happening, so we decided on an every other week schedule. The intent? To connect. The purpose of connection? To encourage each other towards holiness as we grow together as a family.

So this past Tuesday night, after dinner, we commenced our first official family night of August. The game of choice – Yahtzee. You know the rules, in this addicting game of luck and strategy, players have three tries each turn to roll dice in hopes of obtaining the elusive Yahtzee–or racking up points in one of the 12 other scoring categories.Anyone who’s ever done it knows the indescribable feeling–getting Yahtzee in one roll! Of course, this five-of-a-kind phenomenon only happens once in a blue moon (unless you are my second born who has a knack for it). The rest of the time, players must be content with a three-roll full house, large or small straight, or any other combination of five dice.

Admittedly, I am just a bit competitive. So I had to make the game a little more interesting. The winner got to skip her chores for the rest of the week. Her chores would be divided between her other 3 sisters. But there was a hole in my twist. What if mom or dad won? Ok…if mom or dad wins, the non-winning parent would have to do the chores for one of the girls whose name we would draw out of a hat. Everyone now had a vested interest in the outcome (and all I wanted to do was to beat my bride). As I totaled the final score, I knew it would be either me or my wife with the highest score. Four points….four points caused me to assume my oldest chores for the week. Whose “bright” idea was this anyway.

Despite the unfortunate outcome, somewhere in the midst of our game, we all connected. My prayer for my girls is that we can somehow reach their hearts. I want them to want to do good for the sake of goodness, not because of the fear of reproof. As I read Nehemiah 10 this morning, I noticed a similar focus.

We must not only cease to do evil, but learn to do well.

The Christian journey should not be 80 years of trying not to do evil, but a lifetime of learning to do well. The more we fall in love with the truth, the less we are prone to sin. As parents, we have such a few short years to impart this truth to our kids. If they miss it, our kids could spend a lifetime chasing a wrong focus.

So if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some chores to do…

Leave a Reply

