Punctuation Is Powerful…


We both knew that we were way behind. It was a classic Sunday night scramble – a last minute homework project. You know the kind, she had at least 2 weeks lead time, but my oldest and I both managed to put it of until 10 pm last night.

My bride had asked me to help Mackenzie with her Business class project of researching computers in an effort to buy her “dream machine”. She was then to write a three paragraph descriptive of her findings and results. She sat at her desk and me on the floor next to her. For me it was less about the project and more about connecting with my 15 year old. She knows how to work her ol’ dad; playing on my love of writing she asked, “Dad, how would you word this?” That’s all I needed, the wordsmith in me kicked into gear and Mackenzie tried to keep up (hoping mom and teacher don’t read this part).

I love punctuation! It’s fun to sling around the colons (regular and semi’s). Proper punctuation matters. Reminds me of my freshman English professor at UF. He wrote the following on the board our first day of class:

“A woman without her man is nothing”

Then he asked us to punctuate it correctly. All of us males in the class wrote:

“A woman, without her man, is nothing.”

All the females in the class wrote:

“A woman: without her, man is nothing.”

Punctuation IS powerful.

As I read Romans 5 this morning my friend the colon grabbed my attention – he had something to list for me, something that changes how I live out today.

“Here it is in a nutshell: Just as one person did it wrong and got us in all this trouble with sin and death, another person did it right and got us out of it. But more than just getting us out of trouble, he got us into life! 19 One man said no to God and put many people in the wrong; one man said yes to God and put many in the right.”

Mackenzie and I finished “her” project before midnight, and as I headed down stairs she yelled to me: “Thanks dad, I’ll let you know what grade you got…” (grin)

Lord, as we work out our faith today, help us to replace our scattered question marks with a few more periods and even exclamation marks. Punctuation is powerful.

***Update – From her teacher – “You gave a very good description of your dream computer. It sounds like an excellent system that would meet all of your needs. And you even stayed under budget! Good for you. When you begin searching for a new computer “for real,” I hope you remember the things you learned in this lesson. You posted your dream computer information to the discussion group successfully. Good job!”

Mrs. McD

Grade: 100 / 100


3 responses to this post.

  1. nice way of putting punctuation in its proper perspective! English was my favortite subject in school (and best, grade wise, I might add!), but, my puntuation knowledge is a bit rusty!!!I’ll just bet you got an “A” for your daughter!

  2. Posted by Mackenzie Hooker on August 28, 2006 at 10:36 AM

    Comments: Kenzie, you gave a very good description of your dream computer. It sounds like an excellent system that would meet all of your needs. And you even stayed under budget! Good for you. When you begin searching for a new computer “for real,” I hope you remember the things you learned in this lesson. You posted your dream computer information to the discussion group successfully. Good job!

    Mrs. McD

    Grade: 100 / 100

    Dude, i think that means you did good! way to go!

    love you

  3. I love that verse, and I love technology! (just call me Kip) Can’t wait til my kids get an assignment like that! -Tina

Leave a Reply

