Me – Me – Me…


As of 8/31/2006 9:08:04 AM EDT:

I am 39 years old.
I am 478 months old.
I am 2,079 weeks old.
I am 14,554 days old.
I am 349,305 hours old.
I am 20,958,308 minutes old.
I am 1,257,498,484 seconds old.

My age is the equivalent of a dog that is 5.69 years old.

There are 56 days till my next birthday
on which my cake will have 40 candles.

Those 40 candles produce 40 BTUs.
You can boil 4.57 US ounces of water with that many candles.

Me, me, me. We all battle the ugly selfish gene from time to time. But it is so counter productive to living a life for Christ. Matthew Henry writes “A reason and proof why the wisdom of the flesh is death: because, he says, it is the enemy of God. A reason why the wisdom of the flesh is enmity to God, because it neither wants to nor can be subject to him, and by flesh he means a man that is not regenerated. ”

Romans 8: “Focusing on the self is the opposite of focusing on God. Anyone completely absorbed in self ignores God, ends up thinking more about self than God. That person ignores who God is and what he is doing. And God isn’t pleased at being ignored. But if God himself has taken up residence in your life, you can hardly be thinking more of yourself than of him.

Lord, it really is all about you and sooo not about me. Help us today to die to ourselves and our selfish needs and actions and live for you. Amen.

My date of conception was on or about 2 February 1966 which was a Wednesday – ok, now that’s just a little too much information for me…

*** Update – here is a disturbing response from my sweet mom – “hummmmm, never thought about it honey….must have happened on my b’day…now that REALLY is more than you wanted to know, right??? (sorry!…just had to let you know!)

“To live your life you’ve got to lose it – and all the losers get a crown” – Audio Adrenaline

For those interested, here is that fun website: Birthday Calculator

2 responses to this post.

  1. I am going to share this post with my reunion group. This is exactly what we have been focusing on: dying to self. It’s not pretty and it hurts. But it is so good to be continuously transformed into the image of Jesus. I am so grateful for his love that never gives up.

  2. As of 8/31/2006 3:21:35 PM EDT
    I am 23 years old.
    I am 277 months old.
    I am 1,205 weeks old.
    I am 8,433 days old.
    I am 202,407 hours old.
    I am 12,144,441 minutes old.
    I am 728,666,495 seconds old.

    Celebrities who share my birthday:
    Hilary Swank (1974)
    Brad Hargreaves (1972)
    Tom Green (1971)
    Vivica A. Fox (1964)
    Lisa Kudrow (1963)
    Kate Bush (1958)
    Delta Burke (1956)
    Jean Reno (1948)
    Arnold Schwarzenegger (1947)
    Paul Anka (1941)
    Peter Bogdanovich (1939
    Buddy Guy (1936)
    Edd ‘Kookie’ Byrnes (1933)
    Thomas Sowell (1930)
    Casey Stengel (1891)
    Henry Ford (1863)
    Emily Bronte (1818)

    My age is the equivalent of a dog that is 3.30058708414873 years old. (Life’s just a big chewy bone for me!)

    There are 333 days till my next birthday
    on which my cake will have 24 candles.

    Those 24 candles produce 24 BTUs,
    or 6,048 calories of heat (that’s only 6.0480 food Calories!) .
    I can boil 2.74 US ounces of water with that many candles.

    oh, and my date of conception was on or about 6 November 1982 which was a Saturday.

    now all that makes me want to read Romans 8 😀

Leave a Reply

