Homecoming Dance

OK – I’ve done it.

I’ve experienced “the big dance” not only from the dad’s side of the equation, but from the other team’s perspective! My oldest was invited to her first public high school Homecoming dance -the big night was this past weekend. Ladies, I fully realize that what I am about to say makes me the master of the obvious but…ohhh my!!!! The prep, the drama, the emails, instant messages, chit-chat, the sleepovers, the dress shopping, makeup, hair… I am now convinced that getting ready for the dance is far more important than what happens when you actually get there!

My oldest looked absolutely stunning, and her date was quite the handsome gentleman. We had the dad – to – date – of my princess talk, the one that I’ve dreaded for some 15 years. But this was a group date thing – safety in numbers. All had a fun time, in fact they came back to our home and relieved the night until about 3 am. I checked out early, but mom stayed up – right in the middle of them. She is one of the cool moms. I really think she was reliving her Proms and Homecomings.

You know, the Bible is full of homecoming stories – Jacob’s homecoming to meet brother Esau, the return of the nation of Israel from exile, and the return of the Prodigal Son (in what has been called the greatest short story ever written).

But we all have THE homecoming soon. It’s on His calendar – He knows when it is. Just as the girls spend hours upon hours getting ready for the big dance, so should you and I be preparing for our homecoming. If “THE big dance” were tomorrow night, what would you be doing today?

4 responses to this post.

  1. You SURVIVED!!! Praise the Lord, You survived! And, her date survived too! After your post about “Dating my Daughters” a few months ago, I was worried for whomever the guy would be. Thanks for the homecoming reminder bro.

  2. Bro – excellent – we need to be just a conscientious in our preparation – and we too must “chit-chat” with others to convince them to go to “the homecoming dance” as well.

    Great picture, too!!!!

  3. my granddaughter’s homecoming is this weekend, she’s a freshman. they grow up too fast!

  4. Posted by Bailey on September 22, 2006 at 10:22 AM

    that was a great blog .. I LOVE YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

