Driver’s Permit

images.jpegSomething happened a few days ago and I still can’t wrap my mind around it – my oldest got her permit to drive.

It was one of those milestones that somehow snuck up on me. Oh, for the past year we had been preparing for this day, driving in empty school and library parking lots. But as I sat in in the DMV watching my 15 year old get photographed for her licenses I was bombarded with inevitabilities that I just wasn’t ready for – not the least of which was the fact that she was going to want to drive home!

Scanning my memory of the geographic area I couldn’t find connecting empty parking lots that lead home. Then I heard “OK dad, we are done, let’s go”! I thought of a some desperate stall tactic like “let’s do the eye test again, wasn’t that fun?” – smooth, I know. I handed her my keys and we walked to my Yukon. Strange, we crossed paths as she headed for the driver’s door and me the passenger’s.

We both took a deep breath as she merged into traffic. Somewhat overconfident, she reached for the radio. My mind told me to grab her hand in a dad like correction, but my grip was so tight on the sides of my chair that my hands refused to obey my brain.  That’s when we both noticed that she was over-correcting her steering, causing the vehicle to slightly zig-zag within our lane.

“Dad, what do I do?” Thank you Holy Spirit for another God moment. Her focus was just over the hood of the SUV, looking immediately in front of her. Over correction is a certainty! I remembered back to the sunny Saturday afternoon on a Louisiana river where my dad taught me to captain our 15 foot open bow boat. As a young man I was struggling with the same issue as my daughter. My focus was wrong and the wake I left behind our boat looked like a series of bad “S” curves.

“Mackenzie – raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.” That’s when the Holy Spirit whispered to me, “yes, and you too dad”. On our faith journey, when things get tough, we have a tendency to drop our heads and focus on the immediacy, onto that which is directly in front of us. This causes us to over-correct! We must raise our heads and fix our eyes OVER our problems and ONTO our destination – Jesus Christ. Over correction is wasted effort and only serves to lengthen our journey.

Thank you Father for teaching us both an important lesson this week. And oh, about that bad word that I “thought” when Mackenzie pulled into our driveway and then hit the wrong pedal, nearly taking out the side of our house? Sorry….

9 responses to this post.

  1. OK, so I just have to say that just last night Darin and I were talking about our son Liam learning to ride his bike and Darin was sharing with me his method for teaching the kids to ride: don’t look down at the pedals and the handle bar, look up and out!

  2. Seeing the picture is what it’s all about bro! Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Wow – another great thought, Hook: “raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.”

    I needed that today.

    peace,
    e

  4. Wow – another great thought, Hook: “raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.”

    I needed that today.

    peace,
    e

  5. Wow – another great thought, Hook: “raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.”

    I needed that today.

    peace,
    e

  6. Wow – another great thought, Hook: “raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.”

    I needed that today.

    peace,
    e

  7. Wow – another great thought, Hook: “raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.”

    I needed that today.

    peace,
    e

  8. Wow – another great thought, Hook: “raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.”

    I needed that today.

    peace,
    e

  9. Wow – another great thought, Hook: “raise your focus from directly in front of you to the horizon ahead of you.”

    I needed that today.

    peace,
    e

Leave a Reply

