Broken…

15a26b10.jpgHe sat in front of me all day. His T – shirt was black and long sleeved with blocked white letters, an edgy font selection. That very night before I asked God to speak to me, I needed something. I was hungry to hear from my Abba daddy.

The day would be long. I was sitting in on a series of God presentations from some very well respected men within our Christian community. Certainly He would speak through these wise counselors into my expectant heart. Some 5 hours later I had heard everything and nothing at the same time. I thought more than once “Come On God!!!”. In my frustration my eyes settled back down from the speaker to the back of the black t-shirt. As guys tend to do when we sit for too long, we shift in our seats. My friend from the front row leaned forward resting his elbows on his knees. Finally I could read the complete message on the back of his shirt. It said:

______________________

BROKEN:

I learned God-worship when my pride was shattered.

Heart-shattered lives ready for love don’t for a moment escape God’s notice…

-Psalms 51:17

________________________

There it was, all the time right in front of me. While I was looking elsewhere for something…anything from my Creator, He chose to use a t-shirt to deliver His message to my thirsty soul.

God despises the proud and loves the broken.

Those of us who are thoroughly convinced of our misery of sin, would spare no cost to obtain the remission of it. The good work wrought in every true penitent, is a broken spirit, a broken and a contrite heart, and sorrow for sin. It is a heart that is tender, and pliable to God’s word. Oh how I wish there were such a heart in every one of us. God is graciously pleased to accept this instead of all burnt-offering and sacrifices. The broken heart is acceptable to God only through Jesus Christ; there is no true repentance without faith in him.

We as men despise that which is broken, but God will not. He will not overlook it, He will not refuse or reject it. Those who have been in spiritual troubles, know how to empathize and pray for others afflicted in similar ways.

A broken spirit is of more value than sacrifices.

3 responses to this post.

  1. broken is what I will be during my storm. thanks for the words, bro!

  2. If it would have been a snake, it would have bitten you! Thanks for the reminder that He is always there speaking to us, if we will just listen and in this case, look. Thanks bro!

  3. Pride is the wall that divides us from Jesus……and you are right about being broken! The broken hearted long for a comforter, and the Great Comforter is longing to comfort them! All He asks is that we let Him! The proud will inevitably try to go it alone. It’s only when we are totally broken, do we realize we really need help and that’s where Jesus comes in and rescues us from ourselves! He is great, isn’t He!

Leave a Reply

