The Bottom Line

images.jpegIf my day is going to go as I want it to, it begins right here, in this very booth at Panera Bread.

Well, there has been one change to my favorite routine. In a perfect world, I’d be enjoying a Cinnamon Crunch Bagel with Hazelnut Cream Cheese with my piping hot mug of coffee. But that has changed thanks to our personal trainer, a huge hulking man. In a dialect very similar to the governor of California he told me “If you want to look like a bagel, then keep eating a bagel every morning”. If he wasn’t soooo huge, I’d fired back something…anything!

So as I sit here sipping my Hazelnut coffee and enjoying a bowl of fruit (grrrr) I’ve got my favorite group of older gentlemen over my right shoulder. They too like their same table, although it is only on Wednesdays. There are 6 of them, look to be in their 70’s. I admire three things about their group:

1. Their purpose – all of them have their Bibles on their laps and are engaged in discussion about our Creator and His word.

2. Their consistency – it is rare when the group is not all present.

3. Their efficiency – after every reading and sometimes lengthy discussions, one of them always speaks out (and sometimes more loudly than necessary) “So what is the bottom line”? OK…I love that! It’s as if they are saying, even in their senior years, all this God talk is nice, but so what? What are we going to do with this information now? How will this practically influence our lives today?

Bottom Line
n.
1. The line in a financial statement that shows net income or loss.
2. The final result or statement.

3. The main or essential point.

These men of God have no idea that they are influencing me as they meet, and I’m trying my best not to be a stalker! But when I’m done with this journal entry, I think I am going to go introduce myself and let them know how they bless me every Wednesday.

In evaluating his ministry he would often ask “Are we really being used to change people?” Billy Graham’s bottom line never changed. Today I will be thinking about the ultimate bottom line.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris on November 1, 2006 at 11:06 AM

    Roy,

    This seems to be a recurring theme as of late… what’s the bottom line or what action am I going to take. I believe there are three parts in our walk: interpretation, understanding, and action (bottom line). As a believer in Christ, I think I do pretty well with the first two. The third…. well that’s another story. I hope your comments today inspire people to take a look at the bottom line and take some action.

  2. lucky guy! Jump right in with them. I bet they’d love to have a young buck to mentor.

  3. whoa, that’s so cool! but no matter how you look at it… you’re a stalker.
    hahaha

  4. Posted by suz on November 1, 2006 at 2:41 PM

    so you don’t want to look like a bagel but are ok looking like a fruit??? ok- not the point you were making, but as your lil sis it doesn’t matter- I can still pick on you and then hide behind mom.

    so what happened with the older dudes? awaiting your update!

    love you! xoxo

  5. Greatt post Mr. Roy! I posted again yesterday so go check it out =) its not that long. Have an amazing day and see you at practice hopefully… im kinda sick… Peace out Mr. ROy!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love You!,

    Natasha

  6. sounds like those old boys got it goin’ on! God bless them!

Leave a Reply

