Proverbs 31 Woman

As the daddy of 4 young women I sometimes feel incompetent when it comes to speaking into who they are as females.

The moments are few and precious, but the windows into their heart are sometimes opened and they invite me in. I try so hard to enter in gently, careful not rearrange the furniture and play Mr. fix-it. I praise God that my girls have a mom who models what it means to be a godly woman. This daily example to them means more than any words I could come up with.

But what tops all instruction is P31…code for the book of Proverbs chapter 31. My heart’s prayer for my girls is that they become P31s. If they fall short of everything else in this world tells them is important, I beg my God that He matures them into P31 women. The chart below helps me to understand this life directing passage:

The Proverbs 31 Woman :

10An excellent wife, who can find?
For her worth is far above jewels.

rare, precious

11The heart of her husband trusts in her,
And he will have no lack of gain.

trustworthy

12She does him good and not evil
All the days of her life.

kind

Her Character
as a Wife

13She looks for wool and flax
And works with her hands in delight.

works joyfully

14She is like merchant ships;
She brings her food from afar.

goes extra mile to get choicest goods

15She rises also while it is still night
And gives food to her household
And portions to her maidens.

disciplined

16She considers a field and buys it;
From her earnings she plants a vineyard.

enterprising, prudent with money

17She girds herself with strength
And makes her arms strong.

energetic

18She senses that her gain is good;
Her lamp does not go out at night.

good steward

19She stretches out her hands to the distaff,
And her hands grasp the spindle.

diligent

Her Devotion
as a Homemaker

20She extends her hand to the poor,
And she stretches out her hands to the needy.

compassionate, generous

Her Generosity
as a Neighbor

21She is not afraid of the snow for her household,
For all her household are clothed with scarlet.

provident

22She makes coverings for herself;
Her clothing is fine linen and purple.

elegant

23Her husband is known in the gates,
When he sits among the elders of the land.

influential

24She makes linen garments and sells them,
And supplies belts to the tradesmen.

industrious

Her Devotion
as a Homemaker

25Strength and dignity are her clothing,
And she smiles at the future.

poised

26She opens her mouth in wisdom,
And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

wise

Her Influence
as a Teacher

27She looks well to the ways of her household,
And does not eat the bread of idleness.

manages her home

28Her children rise up and bless her;
Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:

praiseworthy

29“Many daughters have done nobly,
But you excel them all.”

distinguished

Her Effectiveness
as a Mother

30Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,
But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.

God-fearing

31Give her the product of her hands,
And let her works praise her in the gates.

honored

Her Excellence
as a Person
~ Proverbs 31:10-31
6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Hannah on November 13, 2006 at 4:30 PM

    That’s good. Everytime I read it I thought I can’t measure up to those bars, I want to sleep at night, and I don’t know what half of this means. Thanks for clarifying, hannah

  2. Hannah,

    You CAN sleep at night because your Creator made you perfect, just the way you are! You are a princess and He your King. When He thinks about you Hannah, He spins around wildly! “Measuring up” is a tool of the devil. None of can ever measure up to perfection, but praise God for grace. P31 is an ideal for all women to look towards. We men have our own ideal too.

    You are amazing Hannah and we all believe in you and love you.

    mr roy

  3. God has had me studying the P31 woman for months now. And to be honest, I hated her at first. She was this perfect woman that I could never be. And then God showed me her passion. This woman is not perfect, but she is passionate – she is living up to her potential, being all that God made her to be! So, for me, it is okay that I can’t sew or cook and that I don’t have servant girls to look after – that is not who God made me to be. But I am to serve and glorify God with all of my heart in the areas that he gave me talent: writing, speaking, shopping (ha ha), computer stuff. If I do that, then when others look at me, they will see a P31 woman.

  4. Gabrielle,

    My prayer for you right now is that you continue to come into a fuller understanding of who you are in Christ. You are perfectly and wonderfully made…just as your are.

    roy

  5. Roy,
    I already commented on this post, but I wanted to come back and say thank you. Reading what you wrote inspired a week of P31 posts on my site. God used what you wrote to give me a burden to help my readers(younger, modern, Christian girls) understand the awesomeness of this passage.
    Feel free to check it out, I would love to have feedback from someone (other than a girl) :).
    Tag: P31 Woman

    God bless

  6. Posted by Victoria on October 26, 2007 at 2:09 PM

    Concerning the wife being subject to her husband, adaptable to his concerns, a helpmate and the weaker vessel– Amen! So choose your man wisely, you only get once chance at this.

    and may I comment . . .

    Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape.

    😉

Leave a Reply

