I’m A Christ-Follower (parody of Mac vs. PC)

Warning: if you have had no exposure to Christian satire, do not view these videos. They were written to make a point (as was the ending).

I love satire. I love poking fun at the silly things we do to “show” our faith (probably because I am guilty of them all), like how many Christian symbols we can possibly cram onto our temples of the Holy Spirit, vehicles, bookshelves, walls, and under our skin. We all still fall to the sin of pride. Thank God for grace.

It’s all about internal attitude. Are you studying to learn more and renew your mind or are you trying to impress and get all the right answers in Bible study class? Are you listening to Christian music to keep up with your friends or does it bring you peace? Do you shun public displays of your faith because you’re worried about what others may think?

“Christian no more” at the end of each clip refers to the point of no longer just giving lip service to our faith, but putting action behind our devotion.

They will know we are Christians by our love, not our accessories. Live it…

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ruth salazar on November 24, 2006 at 6:17 PM

    You are right. Being a Christian is much more about how we live our lives and how we treat each other than about displaying a bumper sticker on our car or bragging about the latest religious gimmick we are into! For most, it IS hard to be humble!

  2. Posted by suz on November 24, 2006 at 8:43 PM

    you know I totally love satire- and these are great! Great message today! love you!

  3. Posted by Bailey on November 24, 2006 at 10:42 PM

    That was a good measseage … it really taught me alot … THANKS I LOVE YOU !!

  4. Thanks for the message… good reminder! Those were great!

  5. Posted by Michelle on November 26, 2006 at 8:11 PM

    Jordan really enjoyed the clips, he said haha! but, as a parent I sometimes have struggled with secular music. I love the stuff I grew up listening to, yes I admit to occasionally head bobbing to ACDC, Def Leppard, Van Halen….I turned out ok and now my son is hooked on those classics. What kind of parent does that make me, well according to that the book I am currently reading “Why Christian Kids Rebel” I am doing my son a service by allowing him to listen to things that aren’t necesarrily “WWJD” songs. Jordan often says, “How can I resist the call of the electric guitar?” Roy, you keep us thinking! Thank you

  6. Michelle,

    Count me in as a struggling parent when it comes to music. But I am fighting against my tendancy to be leagalistic, and the implications of this struggle have given way to iPods full of different music styles (within reason of course).

    roy

  7. I have a different take. I like CCC of Naperville, it’s a good place, but I think they’re off-base here, because this appears condescending. Hey, I agree with the sentiment. Unfortunately it appears mostly judgmental and rude.

    Here’s my take:
    http://fromthemorning.blogspot.com/2006/12/im-christian-mac-vs-pc-parody.html

  8. Hi Matt,

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing your take. I really appreciate it.

    This is raw satire – I warned about it up front. It was designed, and rather effectively, to get people talking about the way we all “do” church.

    I can see how you and others would consider it judgemental and rude – to which I would respectfully say “lighten up”. The rest of us laugh – mostly at ourselves. And that is always a humbling good thing.

  9. Oh I’m “light.” Ever read my blog? 🙂

    And I agree with the videos… But taken in the wrong context, they can be viewed negatively. I guess that’s all I was getting at.

Leave a Reply

