God Blog

 

hundreddollar.jpg

I am not a “writer”. I have no formal training. Each of my posts are filled with enough technical errors that would make an editor cringe. But I have been consistent in my posts over the past 2 years and that must have caught the eye of some desperate company.

Over the weekend I received the following email:

Hi Roy,

Nice blog. We would like to hire you. Right now we are looking for bloggers to fill some of the following topics: gambling, cars, Linux, video blogging, Nintendo games, Xbox gaming, hedge funds, Harley Davidson motorcycles, sport bikes, program management, social networking, gadgets.

Compensation Package:

  • Monthly compensation: $225 (US)
  • 7 to 10 posts per week are required.
  • Traffic bonuses for aggressively growing traffic are available, up to $50 per month additional.
  • Access to our vibrant community discussion group with 80+ bloggers, where you can share tips and network.
  • We take care of all the technology, with an advanced blogging platform.
  • We also provide marketing support.
  • Virtual shares program: blog with us for a year and you can earn virtual shares in the company.

Intrigued, I wrote back:

“Thanks for your kind words and interest in my writing. If you read through my posts you noticed that I simply write about Amazing Grace. In your list of subjects I didn’t notice a God Blog. Are you up for expanding your blog sphere?”

Their Response:

“No thanks.”

Hmmm.

I really don’t know what I’m doing every morning here at this booth tucked into the corner of Panera Bakery. What I do know is that our God is alive and moving all around me. I love to write about daily God Moments. Maybe I could write about “social networking, hedge funds, or program management” and earn enough money to at least pay for my addiction to my piping hot mug of Hazelnut Coffee and toasted Everything Bagels, but where would the passion be? What would be the eternal significance?

You and I are living out the greatest story ever told.

All I want to do is record today’s chapter of His Amazing Grace.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, Roy… you are truly an inspiration. Thank you for sharing a piece of your heart with us everyday. You make me want to try harder!

  2. Posted by ruth salazar on December 11, 2006 at 12:06 PM

    wow, that is so coooool! So, do you reckon I have a chance to be discovered by a big publishing company with my lousy spelling and grammer!!! ??One can always hope!! Seriously, in my opinion, you are an excellent writer!

  3. Thanks for not selling out for power and fame…..and lousy handwriting……..I love you, your family, and your blogs……the world is a better place because you live for the King….

  4. Just keep doin’ what He tellzya! (it’s working)

  5. Just keep doin’ what He tellzya! (it’s working)

  6. Posted by Daryl on December 11, 2006 at 4:00 PM

    I always find it interesting when God is brought up in the secular world the reaction that it sparks…too bad most of the time it’s the one you got. Wouldn’t it have been cool if they said..”We would love to have a God Blog in our Sphere! Keep up the great addiction Bro!

  7. You are a star! (you could make a lot more than that, by the way) 😀 -t

  8. Posted by Marv on December 11, 2006 at 8:02 PM

    Again, you made the correct choice and the secular world does not see it. I don’t think that God cares about the writing style or the errors, but the heart. I love you and keep up your vigil in the corner of Panera Bakery.

  9. WOW!!! Oh man would I love to write about gambling, drinking, social interaction, etc….. The only problem is I would write about the negative of each of them and how only God is the answer. I’m pretty sure I’d get the same reply from them! Way to go bro, thanks for keeping it real in the blogosphere for God! YOu are an inspiration.

  10. Hey! Maybe this is the Holy Spirit’s way of prompting you to start a God Blog?!?!?!? Let me know.

  11. Posted by Ralph on January 17, 2007 at 9:17 AM

    Awesome Roy, Simply Awesome!

Leave a Reply

