…but how do we know???

So what if…

What if the pastor was called to be an accountant and the accountant a pastor?  How should they have known they had it all wrong?  How do we know if we have it all wrong?  Won’t God still bless our good intentions?  We’ve all heard many examples of people missing their destinies.  I have seen senior pastors whom I know in my heart were called to be associates, business men whom I knew were supposed to be in full-time ministry, and even pastors I knew whose calling was in the marketplace.

Am I fulfilling my destiny?  I subscribe to Bevere’s 3 litmus tests:

1 – Have I Sought God Earnestly?

We are told that God rewards those who diligently seek Him in faith, not causally seek Him in wonder or doubt (see Heb. 11:6).  I believe that if anyone earnestly seeks God, fully expecting an answer, he will be shown what he’s been put on earth to do.

2 – Have I Planted Myself?

“Those who are planted in the house of the Lord shall flourish in the courts of our God” (Psalms 92:13).  Those who plant themselves in the house of God, which in this life would be the local church, shall flourish.  It is the Lord who ordained the church, not men.  Jesus has an overall church subdivided into local churches.  One of the numerous examples of this would be His words to each of the 7 local churches in Revelation:  Ephesus, Symyrna, pergamos, Thyatira, Sardis, Philidelphia, and Laodicea.  The Lord is the one who places His people: “But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased” (1 Cor. 12:18).  Bevere states “This may be shocking to you, we are not the ones who choose where we go to church.  He does!”

How can we fulfill our destiny if we aren’t even in the right location of His body?

3 – Am I Entangled?

Am I so entangled in “life” that I could not lay down everything to follow Him?  When He says “Hook, follow me.  Do I say “But wait Lord, I first need to…” My entanglements – security, pride, hindering relationships, and lust of the flesh.  As God shows me the weights that entangle me, I must ask for His sword to sever their ties to my soul or flesh.

Is there anything magical about the above?  Nope.  It may not even be complete or applicable to you in your journey.  But for me, it is the model that I subscribe to when checking my position within His will.  Jesus tells us that only a few of us will fulfill our destiny – “For many are called, but few chosen” – (Mat. 20:16; 22:14).

Sobering…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wow… talk about needing to re-evaluate. Thanks for asking the tough questions.

  2. You say sobering, but after that last post this seems like a great encouragment. God will show us where we need to be if we seek after him. What is more important than that? Plus, that is something that we can do no matter how much we might have things wrong up to that given point.

  3. Trust God! Tto become who you are meant to be!

    Keep on thinking.

    Blessings.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  4. Uncle Ben,

    I believe that the Holy Spirit took me from an “in my face” sobering message to great comfort and encouragement. But it has been a transforming process from point A to point B.

Leave a Reply

