So 8 Minutes Ago…

young-adults.jpgI count on young people to keep me current. Living with 4 teen and pre-teen girls helps.

For me, I have found a couple of reverse mentors, 18-24 year olds, that teach me about the “real world”.

A truth: the world, as you and I think it is, has been gone for a while.

It’s kinda like looking at the sun. What we see, is represented by light that left the sun about eight minutes ago, so we never see it in real time.

Our view of the world is the same, filtered by cultural distance. So I need someone to say, “Hey Hook! Your thinking is so…well…eight minutes ago!” To remain relevant, I have a lot of these mentors. They are a gift from God. To remain relevant, I challenge you to get a few reverse mentors too.

One response to this post.

  1. Totally with you on this as a youth leader in my church I learn from my youth every day.

    Blessing.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

