Coach…

Do not neglect the gift that is in you….practice these things; be committed to them, so that your progress may be evident to all.
— 1 Timothy 4:14-15

“My love for coaching was maximized when I discovered that coaching was a call from God to invest in the lives of people. The joy of serving
God as a coach has great rewards. It is the conviction of God’s call and the opportunity to invest in lives for external purposes that
carried me through the ups and downs, wins and losses.”

— Al Schierbaum, author of Kings and Coaches

images.jpegFor many of us, we grew up playing the games and developed a passion for the sport. It seemed only natural to move from being a player to being a coach. Coaching gives me an opportunity to remain a part of the game I love.

As a young coach, I worked hard to earn the respect of my players and fellow coaches. I must admit however, I enjoyed the status that went with being called “Coach”. Most of all, I liked the feeling that went with winning. As I matured, I realized that there was so much more to coaching than status and winning. My entire outlook on coaching changed with the birth of my first daughter Mackenzie. It was at that time I realized other parents loved their children as much as I loved mine. I began to realize that my responsibilities to my players went much deeper than winning and losing. I was being entrusted with what my mom used to refer to as “precious cargo.” I began to understand that coaching could be a ministry and that I could be a positive influence on the lives of my players. I began to get to know my players as people and not just athletes. I listened to their concerns, gave them a voice on the court and treated them as I would have wanted a coach to treat my girls. A funny thing happened along the way, I enjoyed coaching more!

Paul is reminding Timothy to use the gifts that God has given him. He also tells Timothy to practice them and to be committed to them. The
more we practice our gift, the better we should get. The more committed we are to our gift, the more we should understand it is not about what we can get. It is all about how we can best serve God through the gifts He has given us and positively impact the lives of those we serve at the same time.

My CHALLENGE this week is to take a hard look at why I am considering another year as a coach. Am I coaching for selfish reasons or am I responding to God’s call. Why are you doing what you are doing?

One response to this post.

  1. I am finding more and more as life matures..a gentle way of saying, as I get older….that whatever we do daily..whether it is our job or whether is is just our daily encounters with folks..there is a calling on our lives…if we listen, it won’t be in vain..but if we don’t…woe be to us…listen to your calling!

Leave a Reply

