…but Mr. President

041707_v_tech_tribute-313×240.jpg

From President Bush’s consoling speech on the campus of Virginia Tech today:

Describing the horror that took the lives of thirty three victims Monday, Bush said, “Yesterday began like any other day,” before it took a “dark turn” that would not only be the worst campus attack in U.S. history but also the worst day in the lives of many young people at Virginia Tech.

The victims were, as the President put it,
simply in the wrong place at the wrong time.”

——–

Mr. President, with all due respect, that last statement grieves me. We serve an awesome God…a God who is in absolute sovereign control. As incredibly impossible it is to wrap our human minds around such tragedies, our God knew this would happen from the beginning of time.

I can’t imagine the pain and “what if’s” parents and friends must be going through right now. “What if I would not have sent my daughter to Virginia Tech?” “What if I would have gotten to him before he left for class”. Wrong place / wrong time thinking leads to “what if’s”.

In God’s sovereign economy, there is no place for “what if’s”. Even in the midst of chaos, He is in ultimate control.

When we can’t trace His hand, me must trust His heart….and rest in Him.

8 responses to this post.

  1. that’s so hard sometimes, to think that God knew all along, but I believe you are right, Roy.

  2. Everything that happens isn’t in God’s control, even if He knew it would happen. Evil choices aren’t controlled by God. That’s what Bush meant.

  3. Roy, sorry, I seem to constantly disagree with you. I don’t mean to be contentious here.

  4. Gabrielle,

    I love the exchange of ideas. Please never hold back your thoughts. I really respect your walk and wisdom.

    We will have to disagree on this one. I beleive that EVERYTHING is under our God. He could choose to intervene at any moment but chooses not to so that His bigger picture can be accomplished.

    My heart ached for the family and friends…even worse when I heard our president choose those words (and please know that I am not making a political statement, I voted for G.W. both times and his dad too). “What – If’s” can haunt the greiving for the rest of their lives.

  5. Roy, I agree with you bro. What a tragedy and the “wrong place at the wrong time” comment really bugs me too. I’m writing a post tomorrow that I would love your input on. The “God hates America CHurch” (Westboro baptist) is going to protest at the VaTech funerals. Sad times for CHristianity…

  6. I do agree that God is in control in the larger picture. I know of course that when we get to heaven, it will all have been in His control. I am frustrated right now because there are so many things in my own life that I know aren’t really God’s full and true will for my life. I long for the Kingdom of God in the earth, in my life. I am reaching for that. I see where God is touching the earth, is touching a life, and it’s far different than the pathetic things that my life is right now. That’s all. There’s a difference between the weak, not getting prayers answered and dynamic Smith Wigglesworth getting people healed to the point that their whole limbs grew back or they came back to life. Do you know what I am saying?

  7. Hey Gabrielle,

    I hope you don’t mind if I jump in here. 😀 Reading your comment made me think of Abraham and how he and Sarah must have felt all those many years when they knew it was God’s will for them to get pregnant and it just wasn’t happening. In light of that, I encourage you to keep trusting him and in your godly desire to see his will come about, don’t take matters into your own hands, as Abraham and Sarah unfortunately did. God’s will is always accomplished; it is never thwarted. He has eternity to bring it to bear. Be encouraged!

    Tina

  8. Thanks Tina. It would take so many more words to explain it all, but thanks for your encouragement. Blessings

Leave a Reply

