Broken Wholeness…begins

So I began a new journey last night.

It didn’t REALLY begin last night…guess it began long before then. But last night was the official start.

Some 6 months ago I received a call asking me to lead 140+ men through three and a half days…lead them to their next step in their faith journey. OK…

Now what? The answer from the other end of the phone, “You’ll get nothing more from me other than to say you better pray”. OK…

So I headed immediately to my comfort zone — booth #7 at Panera Bakery where I opened my laptop, put on my headphones, clicked on my favorite play list, and stared at a blank Word Document. “I’ve got nothing”, I remember thinking in my head. I’ve been given a blank sheet of paper, advice to pray, and the dates of October 11 – 14th, 2007. OK….

“Lord, I need you. I’ve got nothing to offer. 140 men are looking to me to deliver a life changing message from YOU. Please speak to me”. I felt so small, so inadequate. So unworthy.

“I need a team, a core team of men. Lord, show me. I need 8 men to play key roles.”

Over the last 6 months I have been praying, fasting, and BEGGING my God to help me.

Three months ago He revealed to me a vision. A message that resonates so deep within me. Oh, it’s His message, but it has played out in my life.

The theme of this journey is Broken Wholeness. We all are broken. Broken by sin. Broken by circumstances. Broken by relationships. Broken by health. Broken by life. We all are broken. But at the cross….at the cross there is healing. At the cross there is reconciliation. At the cross there is hope. At the cross there is wholeness.

Men all around us have been disqualified by life. Men that you and I love are sitting on the sidelines, out of the game. Men everywhere have bought into the lie “why bother, why keep trying. It’s no use, I’ve fought this battle all my life, and I give up. I just cant anymore; I’m broken and disqualified. With my past and even current struggles, how can I lead my family, how can I love others, how can I embrace my Creator.” I hear this every week from men in your church and mine. I’ve said it myself. Men who act like they have it all together, but when they pillow their head at night, unworthiness paralyze them.

Satan wants to place this one poisonous thought in our heads – “don’t bother, you are unworthy”. We as men then line up to turn in our sandals as prophets, we hang up our robes as priests, and we lay down our crowns as kings. Disqualified for the journey.

I am convinced that God will bring to the weekend a group of men who need to hear this message. The message of hope. The message of redemption.

God calls the disqualified. He re-qualifies the disqualified. His vision for this message burns inside of me. Men need to hear this. The theme verse for this journey is Micah 7:8 – “Do not rejoice over me my enemy. Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the LORD will be my light.”

So last night, me and my band of brothers gathered at my home to begin this planning process. Oh sure, to pull this off it will take a lot of “you do this, and I’ll do that” kind of planning. But we gathered last night to worship. And worship we did…without singing a song. We shared our brokenness with each-other. We shared our passion for fighting for the hearts of men. We shared our complete reliance on HIM and not us. We stood and locked arms. We prayed for this message to come alive in our lives. We prayed that God would bring to this weekend in October men who need to hear this message. We prayed that we would remain broken because in our weakness, He is made strong.

We were silent and just listened to His whispers….

It began last night…

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suz on May 17, 2007 at 12:25 PM

    praying for you…. He has called for a time as this….and it will be simply amazing.
    xoxo

  2. You are my hero, too, bro. You know what it’s like to be broken. More importantly, you know what it’s like to be repaired.

    I can’t think of any better person to deliver such a life-changing message to all those men on the sidelines who have bought into the lie that they’re no longer needed or no longer effective or no longer of value in the kingdom. I can’t imagine not being there beside you as you do.

    To Arms!
    e

  3. You are my hero, too, bro. You know what it’s like to be broken. More importantly, you know what it’s like to be repaired.

    I can’t think of any better person to deliver such a life-changing message to all those men on the sidelines who have bought into the lie that they’re no longer needed or no longer effective or no longer of value in the kingdom. I can’t imagine not being there beside you as you do.

    To Arms!
    e

  4. Wow! It’s gonna be a great weekend!

  5. Watching and praying from the sidelines…trusting He will do great things in and through you and the men you are leading into battle.

  6. It’s gonna be fantastic!!! I know those guys are going to be blessed!!!

  7. Great! I love it.

Leave a Reply

