Shattered Glass

In a house full of teen girls (where teen boys are sure to hang out too) it is not uncommon for me to hear a CRASH…”sorry!”

But this one was different. This one happened outside of my home office window. Seems that a security light fell from the roof peak and crashed onto my driveway into a million pieces…none to blame.

broken_glowblog.jpg

I’m daddy to 4 barefoot girls, so I knew that I had a clean up on aisle driveway at sunrise. Up early the next day I discovered that when the morning sunlight struck the shattered glass, brilliant colorful rays scattered everywhere.

Shattered glass is full of a thousand different angles, each one picking up a ray of light and shooting it off in a thousand directions. That doesn’t happen with plain glass, such as a jar. The glass must be broken into many pieces.

What’s true of shattered glass is true of a broken life. Shattered dreams…A heart full of fractures…Hopes that are splintered…A life in pieces that appears to be ruined. But given time and prayer, a person’s life can shine more brightly than if the brokenness had never happened. When the light of our Creator falls upon a shattered life, that believer’s hopes can be brightened.

“Do not rejoice over me my enemy. Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the Lord shall be my light.” – Micah 7:8

It’s the nature of things that catch the light. The color and dazzle of light sparkle best through things that are broken.

One response to this post.

  1. Brilliant.

    thanks for praying- at the time you prayed for me, the Lord gave me my message, while I was mowing the yard.

Leave a Reply

