Camp Day 3 – Jail Break

images3.jpeg

 OK, for those of you who have been praying for more pranks ,  your prayers were answered somewhere between 1 am and 5:30 am this morning.

A Run Down:

* Shaving cream fight between boys cabin 4 and 7.

* 3 commando girls (outfitted in all black, including face paint) found half way between the girls side of the camp and the boys. These ladies had done some serious pre-planning for their break out – all black clothes and black face paint. But they made typical rookie mistakes (of which I will not divulge here).

* The Raccoon cabin of 9th grade girls raided the Bobcat cabin.  Harmless until I found the victims on the roof trying to retrieve their ummm…personal belongings.

* 4 am spontaneous game of Manhunt through the woods.  OK – I had 6 old men on my security team and 100 junior and senior high boys.  At about 4:30 am I gave up trying to keep them in their cabins  and decided that our role was that of “containers” – keeping them away girls camp and away from the pastors snuggled warmly in their beds.  The game morphed into campers versus old guys and I can’t remember when I had a better time of just being a boy.  Wild at Heart. Sure it was a little edgy and risky. Probably against my better judgment. Sure if it went bad it could go REAL bad. But it didn’t.  We made some  incredible connection points with those young men.  At breakfast today I saw my boys…didn’t really have to say much, just the nod, the wink…the look…the connection.  As the senior high loaded onto the buses on of the guys sought me out –  “Mr. Roy, you think I could talk to you about something?”

I wonder if he would have made the approach had I shut down Man Hunt at 4 am?

The junior high kids are here now – all 500 of them.  Camp part 2 had begun.   I’m operating on about 3 hours sleep, but its a good kind of tired.

Watcha gonna do Holy Spirit?  I’m ready…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on July 11, 2007 at 9:15 PM

    YOU are having more fun! Love you, Mom

  2. Posted by suz on July 11, 2007 at 9:35 PM

    smiling at answered prayers.
    rock on God.
    and thanks for givin my bro 500 more potential pranksters.
    holy spirit rain down.

    peace out.

  3. […] to teens in a post called “but teens scare me.” He is currently blogging about his adventures as a “chaperone” at a high school and junior high retreat. It takes me back to my youth group days (I know that my friends and I are very responsible for […]

Leave a Reply

