U Too?

The news teaser at 10:58 pm last night hooked me.

082307white.jpg

America’s fasting growing church, located right here in Tampa, was about to make headlines and lead news stories — for the wrong reason. Without Walls pastors, Randy and Paula White announced their impending divorce to their congregation last night.

My heart breaks for the families impacted. But I am not surprised. Stories have been surfacing for over a year now that things are just not right at the 22,000 member mega church.

Maybe the great 21st century philosopher Bono (lead singer of U2) was onto something when he said:

“I often wonder if religion is the enemy of God. It’s almost like religion is what happens when the Spirit has left the building.”

Over my whole wheat bagel, hazelnut coffee, and Tampa Tribune this morning, I wonder that too….

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ivez on August 24, 2007 at 11:21 AM

    This sucks. We heard about it this morning and my mom was like bawlin(crying). Just thinking about all of the families that might be torn apart by this. I was thinking this morning that ” What if the families that hear about this thing happening get the mindset that “Since it didnt work for the powerful, spirit-filled, Hell-raising, Pastors of a 22,000 member flock, then what hope is there for us.” sort of deal.” Agian “this sucks”

    Just another major sign that our Big Bro is on his way to “pick us up” for front row seats to the biggest Good vs. Evil Showdown of the Millinuim.

  2. This is what can happen when you’re more focused on marketing than relationships.

  3. Posted by ivez on August 24, 2007 at 11:42 AM

    Not necessarily. While i was praying about them today i just got that they could be under a whole lot of pressure and that one of them could not handle it anymore. They should have saught out God’s thoughts on this matter a bit more. They could still be togther is they did.

  4. Posted by Marv on August 24, 2007 at 1:50 PM

    Bono’s comment is kind of stunning. Many never know when the spirit has left the building, but keep on doing the same religion things not noticing that the motions have no heart. I feel like many churches are that way. That’s really frightening when we think about it.

  5. Sad… The enemy has won a battle here. So many people that look up to these two are hurting, upset and probably even questioning God and their own worthiness. I’m sure some are thinking (especially the spiritually immature), “If these two “monsters of the faith” can get divorced, then I don’t stand a chance!”

    This is a sad day and they, and their flock are in my prayers. Thanks for the info bro!

  6. Posted by Troy on August 24, 2007 at 10:40 PM

    I will say as I have always said “We need to pray for them” My heart cries out to them. God knows my marriage is not the best and at times all I have is hope to hold on to. But at some point we need to make a committment that no matter what my God is bigger than any of my problems and I am going to stay and wait for Him. I also believe that God is cleaning up his church because He is comging back for a pure and spotless bride. So church you better get ready because Jesus is coming. Soon we will be going home. I also know that not everyone proclaiming Christ will be part of the ride… Matt 7:22 says “Many will say Lord Lord” I guess many truly does mean the majority of proclaimers of Christ. Church you better get ready because God is cleaning house.

  7. Very strategic blow to the Christian faith, to be sure. Marriage is not easy – and I can certainly attest to that having been divorced. Satan will use anything to break up a family – especially such a visible, Christian family.

    But, I just gotta say – tina you really crack me up. Your comment about marketing is way out of line. Your assumption that this couple was more focused on marketing “the church” and that’s what lead to their divorce says alot.

    I suppose families that do not attend any organized church have much better chances to survive in tact?

    Give me a break.

    The thing to do here, obviously, is to pray for this couple and this church body. It’s never too late for God to turn around what our enemy intends for evil and make it great. What a testimony this would be if they were able to come back together.

    Don’t underestimate the power of prayer!!!

    peace,
    e

  8. Very strategic blow to the Christian faith, to be sure. Marriage is not easy – and I can certainly attest to that having been divorced. Satan will use anything to break up a family – especially such a visible, Christian family.

    But, I just gotta say – tina you really crack me up. Your comment about marketing is way out of line. Your assumption that this couple was more focused on marketing “the church” and that’s what lead to their divorce says alot.

    I suppose families that do not attend any organized church have much better chances to survive in tact?

    Give me a break.

    The thing to do here, obviously, is to pray for this couple and this church body. It’s never too late for God to turn around what our enemy intends for evil and make it great. What a testimony this would be if they were able to come back together.

    Don’t underestimate the power of prayer!!!

    peace,
    e

  9. Mega-church or just any church may find the Spirit leaving the building when the focus is not on God, but on the person who is supposed to be representing God…and I agree wholeheartedly that religion is God’s enemy…when religion takes over there is no Spirit there..only doctrine…Was Jesus religious? I don’t think so..I think he was compassionate, obedient, and being the personification of His Father, never named a “religion” but called us all to be followers after Him..proclaiming the Truth in His name…His Church would be made up of many people..all of one accord…one mindset..and that is not what today’s “religions” are about.

  10. This is pretty stunning news. Granted, I’m not particularly familiar with this church, but a couple of things come to mind…

    1) Pray for healing and restoration in the Body of this church.

    2) Pray that both folks will heed Paul’s instruction in 1 Timothy 3:5 (paraphrasing here) – that how can you do God’s work if you don’t take care of the home?

    And I think this is something that all of us need to be cognizant of – it’s so easy for us to forget that as husbands and wives we need to take care of our home lives first before we can be effective ministers for Christ.

  11. Wow! I’ve watched Paula White and this is really a blow. Who knows why this happened, since it happens from the lowest to the highest?

    The mega-church paradigm doesn’t really work, such as in the case of Ted Haggard. With so many people and all that money, it’s hard to focus on the individual.

    They need to spend time listening to God and get close to the Father and stop being busy doing “works.” They sure do need our prayers.

    If they aren’t going to be raptured because they aren’t good enough, who is? Man, oh man. There is a devil and people are under attack! I believe people should stay together and stick it out but we shouldn’t judge them.

Leave a Reply

