Why?

photo.jpg

I got a call from my good friend Bobby Maynard yesterday. “Hey, I came across your blog the other day…what’s that all about?”

I answered “Bobby, I really don’t know.”

I don’t know what this is, why I do it, and why any of you would check back here as often as some of you do.

But as I close in on 500 posts, Bobby’s question to me was very poignant. If you will, please give me the liberty to ramble here with no real purpose at the onset…

I guess the reason reason I write Bobby is to attempt to make sense of this faith journey. All of us believers are trying to find our way…working out our salvation, moment by moment. Each day equals a few steps forward and maybe a few back.

I want my girls to know their daddy and his journey, I mean really know him. I wish I was better at communicating with them. I try. But writing seems to flow more naturally for me. My heart is that one day when I am in Heaven, should they want to look back and catch a glimpse of their daddy, they can scroll thru maybe thousands of daily entries. I want them to know how imperfect I am. I want them to know how I chase after my God…how I’ve learned to get back up when I fall. How exhausted I’ve grown with insincere Christians, posing and pretending. How often I pray for them throughout the day, begging God for His love and grace to permeate their lives. Being a daddy is hard. There is nothing I love more than my role as their dad. I just pray that somehow I can daddy them the way God calls me to daddy His girls.

So I journal…

So Bobby, I guess THAT is why I do this 5 days a week. I read, I learn, I process, I try, I fail, I try again. That’s the story of all of our lives. Someone may need to read your story. God is writing your history of grace, even as you read this. Is it worth your discipline of recording the blessings?

One rainy day, someone may really need to read all about it….

5 responses to this post.

  1. a really good explanation! and you are leaving a legacy of how we, as imperfect people, can attempt perfection by God’s grace and the teachings of His word….and if it can benefit the readers as well as the writer..then your purpose has been well accomplished…your blog is informative and entertaining as well…and if it weren’t here, I, for one, would miss it a whole lot!

  2. Posted by Michelle on September 12, 2007 at 2:37 PM

    Roy,
    I am very grateful for your blogs. Every one of them has a nugget (often a boulder) of thought provoking insight into so many things. Some days it is like you heard what what is my heart(that I also couldn’t articulate) and spoke to it. Keep on blogging..you make a different, an impact on so many. I personally think you should write a book, you are very gifted.

  3. I like the words to a song sung by Steve Green called “Find Us Faithful.”

    The song is really a prayer that the ones who follow after us will have found us faithful. I like the part where it says “may the footprints that we leave, lead them to believe.”

    It just may be that your footprint is a blog.

  4. Posted by tina on September 13, 2007 at 6:25 PM

    I know that your girls will treasure your sacrifice.

  5. Well, I think you just summed it up for me too! thanks bro!

Leave a Reply

