Today It’s Teen X 3

There are birthdays and then there are BIRTHDAYS.

6 is a birthday. 1 is a BIRTHDAY. 32 is a birthday but 40 is a BIRTHDAY. While 12 is a birthday, 13 is a BIRTHDAY. You get the point. There are some birthdays that are bigger than others.

My Bailey turns 13 todaimg_0131.jpgy.

How quickly the time goes. Such a sweet girl at heart with a personality like a wonderfully gooey plate of French toast smothered in maple syrup and face that says “kiss me”, she’s just beginning to show signs of teenage angst. That wonderful warm and cheerful disposition gets slightly sullen at times. Not very often and not for very long, but it’s in there, lurking and I know its coming. Someday, somehow, it will rear its ugly head and take over her body, at least periodically.

Anne Lamott wrote that she thought of her son Sam as being inhabited by aliens during this time and it helped. She even gave him a new name for those moments when she didn’t recognize the boy that had moved in. I’ll have to keep that in mind for those moments in the future when this young princess who lives in our house morphs into full blown teenage-hood. And since I know that day is coming, it makes every day until then extra special.

13 is a big birthday. When I turned 13, I got a red baseball jersey with the #13 on the back. It was a huge deal to me – I owned my age and had the shirt to prove it. I remember counting down the days and crossing them off my calendar like I was embarking on a new journey or heading overseas to parts unknown which of course, I was, but I didn’t really understand it at the time.

So although this ole’ dad has lived through your two older sister’s entry into teen-dom, only by the grace of God, I am ready Bay. I am ready to love you through this exciting season of your life. I am ready to pray for you, cry with you, and just be here for you. Your dad does not pretend to understand the teenage female (or adult female for that matter) but I am here and I love you.

I just love “doing life” with my girls.

By the way Bay, when things get a little crazy around our house full of 5 females, you can find me with the dog, hanging out in the safe place – the garage.

Happy Birthday my princess!

Love Dad

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bailey on October 25, 2007 at 2:49 PM

    Hey dad,

    Thanks! I love you too! Your the best dad a girl could ever ask for and you have made these past 13 years so much fun, I have learned so much from you and I hope to learn even more! Thank you so much for being so awesome! Love you will all my heart!

    Your daughter,

    Bailey!

  2. You are an awesome Dad! Tell her happy birthday from all of us up in KY.

  3. Posted by Bailey on October 26, 2007 at 1:06 PM

    Aww dad! Thanks. I love you so much. You mean so much to me! You dont even know how much i appreciate you and everything you do. I thank you so much for being such an awesome dad and for making these past 13 years unforgettable! I love you with all my heart and im so glad that I have someone like you in my life. I thank God every day for blessing me with you and mom. And I just wanted to let you know that! I love you daddy! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

