Short=Sweet

detail_shortsweet.jpg

Easy question Friday…

Is less more?

Seth Godin pointed me to some interesting research/observations on word count. Seth states, “Basically, short, simple sentences not only sell more books, but spread ideas farther and faster.” I think that means there’s hope for simple guys like me.

What do you think? Are you more likely to read longer or shorter books? Are you more likely to read longer or shorter blog posts?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marv on October 26, 2007 at 10:20 AM

    Hemingway is good/great author and he is know for his simple words and short sentence structure. Less words is hard to write though. It takes time to craft the few words that say a lot.

  2. Posted by Joseph on October 26, 2007 at 3:13 PM

    IF the blog is coming from you, I dont care how long it is, I’ll read the whole thing more than once.

  3. I’ll only answer your question after you answer mine:

    “Why”

  4. Marv – so agree. it’s a monster challenge to say more with less.

    Joe – thanks bro. your words continue to bless this old man.

    Donny – no fair! but if i must, i guess i will defer back to Marv’s comment. it’s a fine balance right? too many words and you dilute your message. too few and you run the risk of uncertainty.

  5. Sometimes less is more and sometimes more is less..it just depends on the writer! I want to see something that keeps my attention and is meaningful without boring me to tears…I found it in your blog!

  6. In my opinion, short is best.

Leave a Reply

