My Pastor Could Beat Up Your Pastor….

Why are some Pastors just better than others?

I believe it’s all about connection. Here are few listener statements that ALL pastors would do well to consider – I don’t condone these (at least not 3 of them ๐Ÿ˜‰ This list is from by one of my favorite communicators – Tony Morgan:

I want to hear your heart and not your brain.

If you listen to me, I may listen to you.

At best, I’ll remember one thing you say.

Your message is only one of thousands I’ve already heard today.

When you admit you’ve messed up, it reminds me that you’re real.

I’m not convinced it’s truth.

I’m moved by stories.

When you make me laugh, I engage.

I hear it, but sometimes I need to see it or feel it or experience it.

I’m watching to see if you keep your promise.

I think it’s funny that you still think you control your message.

Polished scares me.

In order to speak to me, you can’t speak to everyone.

I’m not impressed by big words.

If it’s not about me, I’m not listening.

Your message has more impact when you shorten it.

It’s OK if you don’t have an answer for everything.

What are your questions?

Your message has impact if someone disagrees.

You’d be wise to participate in our online conversation.

I know it seems awkward, but it helps me when you repeat the important stuff.

Your message is not for you.

I don’t have to listen to you.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I loved this list! Do you mind if I copy it into my blog? I belong to a small country church and we only have a pastor once a month. Other Sundays are covered by “lay ministers” and some of them are really there for themselves. I really struggle with my attitudet towards this sometimes and have even checked the preaching plan and avoided attending depending on who is preaching. So I’m being selfish and judgemental myself which I never realise until after the fact of course.

  2. Interesting list with some absolute truths noted. Assuming that real folks have said these things, I am troubled by a couple:

    If itโ€™s not about me, Iโ€™m not listening. and I don’t have to listen to you.
    Who are we in church for? Isn’t this time we spend with God time for us to communicate with Him – and part of that is to hear what He has to say to us?

    No, we don’t have to listen to the pastor, but we should listen to what God’s trying to tell us through the pastor (and I’m not admitting that I necessarily have it figured out, either, because I fall into the same trap, too).

    However…I have to admit that polished can scare me, too…

  3. Sharon – of course!!!! I am all about team work in sharing the love of God.

    Andy – totally agree. I’m not a fan of these feelings, but I do believe that all of these are prevalent in each of our Worship services. And if so, then it would be wise to understand our audience.

  4. I’m with Andy…a good Pastor allows God to have His say!…anything else will not keep my interest too long…you just know when it’s God!

  5. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

