Dancing with My Girls…

photo1.jpg
Had one of those special daddy moments last night.

Was the lucky date for 2 Princesses last night for a Daddy/Daughter Dance.

Broke out the Pink Striped Tie.

Even had the adventure..errrr…pleasure of shopping for her perfect dress.

My older teens volunteered to work the special night, but I did manage to dance the last dance with Mackenzie, my 16 year old. The tears flowed while I held her tight, spinning and dipping her to a special fitting Princess song. I didn’t want the song to end. Could this be my last dance with her before her wedding day? God I pray not.

From holding my 16 year old to dancing the Tanga with my 12 year old as she stood on my shoes – I thank God that I am a daddy to 4 girls. Nights like last night melt me.

Last night reminded me that daughters need their dads to connect with them. From a dad perspective, it takes work. Those transitional teen years are hard on us dads. We feel awkward and irrelevant to their teen world. But last night, as I held my girls tight, I was reminded that they are my girls and I am their dad. I need them and they need me.

Guys – connect with your girls. Our days are limited.

Our dances are short.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by John on February 8, 2008 at 2:28 PM

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that could have been cleaned up with a mop by the end of the night.

  2. Posted by David G on February 8, 2008 at 3:56 PM

    It is so refreshing to hear a Dad be a Dad.

  3. Awesome. Thanks for that, Roy. I’ve cherished every Girl Scout Father/Daughter dance I’ve taken my princess to as well (she’s 9). I’m looking forward to when she’s another inch or two taller to make it a lot easier to spin her ’round when we do some country swing dancing…

Leave a Reply

