Signs

This past weekend our church was “secret shopped” by a visiting Pastor.

I knew this was coming, just didn’t know when. I was most interested in his First Impressions of his visit to our campus – from the time he drove into the parking lot to his exit.

He called me yesterday on his way back to Michigan. I could not write fast enough, his insight was like gold to me. Oh sure, gave us many pats for what our teams did well – but its the few things we must improve upon that had my attention.

Of particular interest was the fact that he said as a first timer, our signs were very confusing. Granted, our church layout is most confusing – but our signs are not a help.

So this week I am immersed in signs.

* What do we want to communicate?

* How do we best do this?

* How do we bring clarity to the confusion?

Made me think – my life is a sign. Am I confusing those who are looking for “the way”? Can they read the proper direction?

You and I may be the only sign for that one person God allows to cross your path today to see. What direction are we pointing?

I finished my day with some Thai food with 2 good friends. How ironic. As I stepped into the restroom I was greeted by this sign above the urinal. The joke is too easy.

Signs:

photo4.jpg

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chuck on February 21, 2008 at 1:47 PM

    Seems obvious to me. Why did they feel the need for a sign! 🙂

    It’s like that health department sign about “employees must wash hands”? (Wonder how effective that is)

  2. Thai food!! Dude, I miss our lunches at Benjarong! I’ve found one Thai restaurant here that’s close, but it’s not the same.

  3. Mark – Recognize that fine restroom? It’s none other than Benjarong!!! The Amazing Chicken was…well…amazing.

Leave a Reply

