Holy Box

My faith is so personal.

In fact, it is so personal that all of my God thoughts, ideas, hopes, and actions must fit into my Holy Box.

images1.jpeg

You know the thoughts: Heaven, salvation, sin, free will, predestination, spiritual gifts…the list goes on. Somehow I feel that all of the tenants of my Christian faith must be completed understood and I must be able to explain each with intricate details of their complementary inner workings.

How absurd and pompous.

But what do I do with the items that don’t fit neatly into my Holy Box? I’ve got plenty, and I bet you do as well. In fact, if I am gut level honest, I have as many items on the outside of my perfectly square box as I do the inside.

Am I ok with that?

As I typed the above line, the door leading to the outside of Panera Bakery opened and a rush of fresh air entered the cafe –

…thanks God, I get it.

Sometimes it is a breath of fresh air to enjoy wit, creativity, spirit, and mysteries of our Christian journey – even when none of it fits in the box.

Thank you God for being bigger than my finite mind. I love serving you my King….

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by graceunbound on March 16, 2008 at 1:40 PM

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile and often come away with some good stuff to think on. This was exactly what I needed to hear at this moment, as I struggle with an issue where I just can’t quite seem to cram God into the box. So what does a person that loves logic do with something that logic can’t contain? Sit back, breathe deeply and enjoy the existence of mystery.

  2. Great point graceunbound. I think the secret for me is to take that deep breath. Its in the inhale and exhale that my spirit finds peace. Thanks for commenting. Please continue to share your thoughts.

    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

