Blessing

It happened again yesterday.

I was sitting at the table, minding my own business, staring longingly into my steaming hot bowl of grilled chicken and wheat pasta…about to dive in…when I was interrupted with:

“Roy, will you bless the food?”

When in a group setting, if asked to pray, you have but a few minutes to gather your thoughts and try hard not to sound like a buffoon – all the while somehow invoking the blessing of the Almighty God on grandma’s green bean casserole.  Odd phenomenon.

Can we BLESS the food?

Whats up with this word “blessing”?

Is it possible to say or hear a corporate prayer without using the word “Blessing”?

Over the next few posts I’m diving in to The Blessing.  My curiosity is piqued just enough that I need to lean more about this ancient action.   A few months ago my dad gave me a copy of the Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by Gerhard Kittel.  From this source, the Bible, and lots of prayer for discernment I begin.

If this exercise is boring to you, forgive me.  But us first borns are literal minded and I must find out if I can BLESS things.

We begin tomorrow…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suz on March 18, 2008 at 10:33 AM

    2nd born checkin in with an absolute loathe for greenbean casserole… if you can somehow figure out HOW to bless that goop of food- i’m in.
    *patiently awaiting tomorrow’s blog*

  2. Posted by graceunbound on March 18, 2008 at 1:05 PM

    As a literal minded second born I’m interested in what you find out.

    My dad’s prayer every night was “Bless this food to the nourishment of our bodies.” Well…ok. If mom cooked a nourishing meal adding that blessing isn’t going to do anything extra. If she’s feeding us Oreos and Twinkies all the blessing in the world probably isn’t going to help.

    My hunch? We toss around the word blessing far more lightly than ever intended; I can’t wait to read more.

Leave a Reply

