Jealousy Followup

Jealousy – such an emotional and sensitive topic.

By your comments, both public and private, we have all struggled to some degree with this giant.

Sometimes just realizing that you are not the only one in this battle is the first step towards victory. Some of us are in the battle of our life right now. Fight on brother – the victory is the Lord’s

But…

God is a jealous God.

We do not read very far in the Bible before we hear God saying, “You shall not make for yourself an idol, or any likeness of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth. You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God” (Exodus 20:4-5). A jealous God! How can a God who is holy, just, loving, gracious, merciful, and long-suffering possibly be jealous?

Richard Straus, in his article “The Joy of Knowing God” wrote “The root idea in the Old Testament word jealous is to become intensely red. It seems to refer to the changing color of the face or the rising heat of the emotions which are associated with intense zeal or fervor over something dear to us. In fact, both the Old and New Testament words for jealousy are also translated “zeal.” Being jealous and being zealous are essentially the same thing in the Bible. God is zealous—eager about protecting what is precious to Him.”

If you struggle with jealousy – I contend that it is a consequence of you putting something or someone above your God. Examine your life prayerfully. Have other things assumed a more prominent place in your life than your relationship with the Lord Himself? If so, take some decisive and concrete steps to put Him in the position He deserves to be.

How?

By verbally releasing this object to God. Give it to Him. Ask Him to forgive you for placing this idol before Him. Our God is a loving and forgiving God. With your heart turned towards Him, now press in. Worship Him. Sing to Him. Read about Him. Talk to Him. Spend time with Him.

I think Jernigan said it best:

Who can satisfy my soul like you
Who on earth can comfort me
And love me like You do
Who could ever be more faithful and true
I will trust in You
I will trust in You my God

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by judy on April 9, 2008 at 11:27 PM

    Wow…you are so right…and so smart! To echo the words of another of your recent commenters (or is it commentors?) thank you so much for ALL you do. 🙂

  2. Judy – thank you for your kind words. I’m not so smart. If I were, I would think I wouldn’t still be struggling with issues from long ago. As my friend Lindsay told me a few days ago, we write as a form of personal therapy. Often I feel that my keyboard is really just a big couch for me to lay upon and work through this thing called life. Thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

