Bear In Focus

EE Cummings once said: “It takes courage to grow up and be who you really are”.

His name is Bear – a mountain man…earthy…unique…madly in love with our Creator, and assured of who he is.

I met him 6 months ago on a Tres Dias weekend. He came back to serve others with me this past weekend on Tampa Bay Tres Dias #21.

We carved out an hour together this past Sunday. I was drawn to him. There was something about him that I wanted more of. I learned that Bear is an ordained minister, 20 years in between churches. God called him back into duty 6 months ago and churches in Georgia are after him now.

So under the shade of a massive Live Oak tree, we sat together discussing our faith journeys. I cleared an open spot using just my Sanuk Hey Jute Slip-On Surfer Shoe, while Bear did the same with his biker boot.

He caught my eye and said, “I sense that you are troubled by something, and I feel the Holy Spirit wanting me to encourage you with this: Now more than ever you must have a single minded focus on God…eyes of faith not flesh.”

Anytime someone tells me that they have a word from God for me, I am still to this day skeptical, BUT I have learned to write it down to process it through later. If it is indeed from God, something within my soul will identify with the message and confirm it’s truth. So Since Sunday I have been meditating on that statement. Bear told me to spend some time in Philippians chapter 3:13-14:

3:13
Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward – to Jesus.
3:14
I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

Matthew Henry’s Concise Commentary

This simple dependence and earnestness of soul, were not mentioned as if the apostle had gained the prize, or were already made perfect in the Saviour’s likeness. He forgot the things which were behind, so as not to be content with past labours or present measures of grace. He reached forth, stretched himself forward towards his point; expressions showing great concern to become more and more like unto Christ. He who runs a race, must never stop short of the end, but press forward as fast as he can; so those who have heaven in their view, must still press forward to it, in holy desires and hopes, and constant endeavours.

I believe that Bear had a message for us all. Are you struggling through the trials of life? Are you mired in the sea of uncertainty?

1. Keep your eyes fixed on the goal – the rest are just distractions.

2. Do not stop short of the finish line.

3. Don’t look back.

4. Refocus and run as fast as you can.

Thank you Lord for using Bear to remind me of my purpose. I pray that I can regain a single focus on you and then be courageous to grow up and be who I really am.

Leave a Reply

