AA Advantage?

“Sometimes I wish I was an alcoholic” – Phlip Yancey

Caught my attention too.

That is absurd, right?

Before one can receive help, he must declare that he needs help. Before he declares he needs help, he must be presented with the dire nature of his condition…like when a doctor delivers the bad news. The news always proceeds the presentation of the cure strategy.

Stay with me…

Yancy writes “I once accepted a speaking engagement among Christians involved in Alcoholics Anonymous. As I talked with the attendees and pondered what to say, I finally decided on the ironic title “Why I Wish I Was an Alcoholic.” It occurred to me that what recovering alcoholics confess every day – personal failure, and the daily need for grace and help from friends and a Higher Power – represent high hurdles for those of us who take pride in our independence and self sufficiency.”

In a ministry that I am a part of we pray a prayer of blessings over the one the needs it the most and the one who thinks he needs it the least. It’s the latter that is in the most danger.

“The flagrantly evil person has a peculiar advantage of sorts: an inner gyroscope of conscience that registers a sense of being off course.” – Yancy

Romans 3:21
But now apart from the law the righteousness of God has been made known…

Grace, grace….God’s grace. The only diagnosis that heals the affliction of sin. And the incredibly simple yet almost impossible for some remedy is but a humble request away.

Almost impossible for the one who thinks he needs it the least.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suz on May 1, 2008 at 11:20 AM

    good stuff roy boy… good stuff.
    xoxo

  2. Posted by Amy on May 1, 2008 at 11:36 AM

    Thanks for a thought provoking post. Makes me wonder if we aren’t all addicts in some way shape or form; some of us just hide our fleshly addictions better than others.

    Amy S.

  3. Posted by graceunbound on May 1, 2008 at 1:03 PM

    How true. The times when I struggle the most are the times when I am holding on to my self-sufficiency (aka, my pride). You’d think I’d learn. Maybe I am learning (slowly). I suppose that’s partly why I chose my blog title, because in laying down my self-sufficiency and admitting my failures I’m finding grace flowing more and more freely in my life. Yes, it is a high hurdle to jump over, sometimes I’ll trip and fall flat on my face. Hopefully that will humble me enough to look up again and say “Help me up one more time, God?”

  4. Amy – totally agree. could it be that our selfishness causes us to “addict” while our soul longs for our Creator?

    Grace – yes yes yes. There is freedom there in our vulnerability.

    Suz – thanks, I love my lil sis.

Leave a Reply

