God IS in the details…

Aesthetics are important.

There, I said it.

Before my highly charged testosterone friends bail on me, let me explain.

Maybe it’s because I live in a household of 5 highly charged estrogen ladies, or maybe it is just how God wired me, but the “fluff” as always appealed to me. While most men are straight vanilla, I thrive in the flavors and spices. But it hasn’t been until the last few years that I was confident enough to embrace this God given characteristic. Society says that somehow you are less of a “man”.

But God is present in each one of our 5 senses:

  • Seeing
  • Hearing
  • Tasting
  • Touching
  • Smelling

God is found in smelling???

Check this out. Mark Batterson recently wrote about an article he read in a magazine call Fast Company.

“Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide are known for their extraordinary customer service. upscale hotels. Here are some of the ways they serve their guests and create a unique hotel experience.

They recently hired French Composer, Henri Scars Struck, to orchestrate a 24-hour soundtrack for their hotels so that their guests would be greeted by a melange of sounds. Their goal is to catch customers off guard. They want to surprise them. They actually hired a cultural curator whose job description is “to create unique experiences for the guest that stimulate all five senses.”

One way they do that is with limited-edition key cards designed by artists such as Michael Lin and Sam Samore. The key cards double as free passes to a local art institution. Guests also get a complimentary copy of adult fairy tale book as a take-home souvenir. By the way, all employees from desk clerks to housekeepers are required to visit the art institution they send people to and familiarize themselves with the variety of artists partnering with Starwood.

Starwood has partnered with a perfume design team to create a unique scent for their lobby. And they have partnered with master chefs to create a unique menu.

Listen, that may sound extravagant. But what if we put half that effort in welcoming people into our worship environments? If you don’t believe me, then why are a dozen chapters in Exodus devoted to the aesthetics of the tabernacle. God is in the details. He details everything from the color of the curtains to the recipe for the incense!”

My heart beats for finding the most effective ways to communicate the Good News. God designed our senses and IS in the details! As Mark questioned, Are we doing everything we can to create an optimal environment for worship and fellowship?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Good Layout and design. I like your blog. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. .

    Jason Rakowski

  2. Posted by judy on May 13, 2008 at 8:07 AM

    I am so relieved to know my nit-pickingness isn’t annoying Him. (After all, He did make me this way and some people appreciate plastic vs. wire hangers…you know)…it is when I take that perfectionism to the next level (commonly known as procrastination) that I get into trouble. My husband calls it “paralysis by analysis,” How can I argue with him when he gets so much done before lunch?!! I just want everything to be “just so.” I’ve quoted this recently…I once heard a preacher (Ron Ball) say, “Perfectionists take great pains and then they give them away.” Ouch. This is when I realized I couldn’t fight the five other humans and one pug who shared my home, I couldn’t work that hard. Clean enough to be healthy, dirty enough to be happy and a typo does not a moron make. It isn’t that I am lazy…I can do, do, do all the live long day…but what am I really getting done for Him?

Leave a Reply

