Crazy Love .3

Crazy…

Gotta admit – I am perplexed.

There I was, sitting next to the resort pool in Naples, sunning more than my big toe, relaxing with one of my much anticipated reads. The setting could not have been better scripted.

I was cruising through the chapters of Crazy Love by Francis Chan rather uneventfully…that was until chapter 5 – “Serving Left Overs to a Holy God”. When the author leads with “This is the hardest chapter of this book for me to write” I naturally sit up a bit, wipe the sweat from my receding hair line, and lock in.

* “A luke warm Christian is an oxymoron.” Francis states that lukewarm Christians are NOT Christians. “We will not see them in Heaven”. He then supports this thought with Jesus’ words in Revelation 3:15-18:

15 I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16 So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. 17 You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. 18 I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see.

Jesus says that because they are luke warm He will spit them out of His mouth.

* “When you read this passage, do you naturally conclude that to be “spit” out of Jesus’ mouth means you’re a part of His Kingdom? When you read the words wretched, pitiful, poor, blind, and naked, do you think He is describing saints? When He counsels them to buy white clothes to wear in order to cover their shameful nakedness, does it sound like advice for those already saved? I thought people who were saved were already made white and clothed in Christ’s blood?”

* “Jesus’ call to commitment is clear: He wants all or nothing. The thought of a person calling himself a Christian without being a devoted follower of Christ is absurd.”

* “Is the idea of the non-fruit bearing Christian something that we have concocted in order to make Christianity easier…so that we can follow our own course while still calling ourselves followers of Christ?”

* “Are we more concerned about going to Heaven than loving the King?”

* “We are more willing to make changes in our lives only if we think it affects our salvations.”

* “Some people claim to be Christians without necessarily becoming disciples. I wonder then why the last thing Jesus told us was to go into the world making disciples of all nations, teaching them to obey all that He have commanded? You’ll notice that He didn’t add, “But hey, if thats too much to ask, tell them to just become Christians, you know – the people who get to go to Heaven without having to commit to anything”.

Shook me…

For those of us who say “But what about Grace?” Stay tuned for tomorrow….

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by David G on May 19, 2008 at 2:34 PM

    Wow…a direct hit right between my eyes. Can’t wait to tomorrow as you must have been reading my mind about “grace”. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

