Summer Reads

If you are like me, one of the things I love about getting away from the routine is the opportunity to motor through the “books to be read” pile that grows at a rapid rate around my office. 3 that I tackled last week:

Francis Chan’s Awesome Love – must read for every believer who thinks he knows how much God loves him.

Nelson Searcy’s Fusion – if you love the local church as much as I do, grab and read cover to cover. Cutting edge ideas and practical steps to love our church family effectively.

But the one book that has captured my thinking lately is The Shack. Though I have not finished it, it’s one of those books that while controversial within the Christian Community, is layered in such a fascinating way that I can’t stop thinking about it. Particularly the following passage:

  • ….” i love you and invite you to love Me.”
    “But why me? I mean, why Mackenzie Allen Phillips? Why do you love someone who is such a screw-up?
    After all the things I have felt in my heart towards you and all the accusations I have made, why would you even bother to keep trying to get through to me?”
    “Because that is what love does…,” answered Papa. “Remember, Mackenzie, i don’t wonder what you
    will do or what choices you will make. I already know. Let’s say for example, I am trying to teach you how not to hide inside of lies, hypothetically of course,” she said with a wink. “And let’s say that I know it will take you forty-seven situations and events before you will actually hear me– that is, before you will hear clearly enough to agree with me and change. So when you don’t hear me the first time, I’m not frustrated or disappointed, I’m thrilled. Only forty-six more times to go. And that first time will be a building block to construct a bridge of healing that one day– that today– you will walk across.”

Hmmmm….yea….hope.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I’m still soaking in that one! Sounds like another book for the “must read” list. Welcome back, friend.

    grace & peace,
    e

  2. that left me saying outloud… “whoaaaa”… i’ll add that to my new pile soon…. xo

  3. Posted by Michelle on June 13, 2008 at 2:31 PM

    I went to Lifeway to get a copy of the Shack and they pulled it from their shelves to “review it”.

  4. Those silly Baptists 😉
    (I can say that, I’ve been one longer than I’ve not been one…)

    Amazon.com

  5. Posted by Frank Basciano on June 13, 2008 at 3:10 PM

    Glad to see that you are being captured by the book. It did me as well. A must read as Eric said. However, I might add that this may be a book that needs to be read more than once, twice, etc… The controversy is unfortunate and overshadows the benefits one can receive from the book. I am sure that you will find more nuggets along the way.

    Welcome home, bro

    Frank

  6. Thanks for the shout out for Fusion! I’m glad you found it helpful.

    For a ton of free stuff that didn’t make it into the book, check out:

    http://www.ChurchLeaderInsights.com/fusion

    Let me know if you have any questions!

    Nelson Searcy
    Author, Fusion
    Pastor, The Journey, NYC

    P.S. I just started blogging at http://www.ChurchLeaderInsights.com/blog – I hope you find it helpful!

  7. Roy…that was a pretty powerful quote. It’s that proverbial Holy 2×4 that swats me upside the head. How many times do I need to be hit by it before I “get it”?

Leave a Reply

