More Prayer…

from my dad…

Well, you have done it! You gave me the book CRAZY LOVE (by Francis Chan) and told me it would challenge me … and it is. I started reading it this morning and immediately thought about my life and the many questions I have had and have presented to my family, friends, and fellow Christians. I can still picture to this day the conversation with my mother and favorite aunt about – “what is the purpose of man and why are we put on this earth” – at the time I was only 15 and I was already questioning some of God’s reasoning and purposes.
Then I began thinking of the hundreds of other questions and discussions that I have had, and the many episodes of trying to “understand” God and to put Him in this neat little package so that my some what limited (yet intelligent) mind could understand Him and His actions and methods of operating. Is there a Christian anywhere that has not asked the question – “why did God allow this …or why did God do this … or why didn’t God do this”?
As I was reading through the book this morning, I came to page 29 where he writes “God exists outside of time, and since we are within time, there is no way we will ever totally grasp that concept. Not being above to fully understand God is frustrating, but it is ridiculous for us to think we have the right to limit God to something we are capable of comprehending. What a stunted, insignificant god that would be! If my mind is the size of a soda can and God is the size of all the oceans, it would be stupid for me to say He is only the small amount of water I can scoop into my little can. God is so much bigger, so far beyond our time-encased, air/food/sleep-dependent lives.
And with that I might well have my answer to the question – “does prayer change God’s mind? In even asking that question (which I have done so personally for years) are we not trying to limit God’s way of thinking ,or reasoning, or acting to that of a mere human? Are we not trying to “box God in” and limit Him to being what we as humans understand? Can we even begin to think that we have enough mental capacity to understand and comprehend a force as mighty as our GOD? He exist in a manner in which the frail human mind will never be able to conceive or to even imagine. Do you think that man would ever understand or could comprehend questions such as … What is God’s mind? How does God reason? Does He have a brain like humans? If so are the receptors limited like humans? Just as the early believers felt that they would die if they looked upon God, do you think that man could survive an encounter with God where he saw and understood God?
So … “does prayer change God’s mind”? Since you must first assume, with this type of a question, that God’s mind is some what similar to what we think of as a mind, the question immediately become moot. There is no further question after that! With all of the books written, and all of the questions asked, and all of the conversations that have taken place over the hundred of years – no one really knows the answer to this question, since no one has any concept of what God’s mind is. But is that the important answer to the question?
Two great quotes kind of says it all about prayer (there are actually hundreds more) – “To pray is to let Jesus into our lives … (Ole Halleshy 1879 -1961) and “Prayer is men cooperating with God in bringing from Heaven to Earth His wondrous good plans for us” (Catherine Marshall 1914 – 1983).
Yes, prayer is important … and while we will never know, while upon this earth, all of the wonderful benefits of it, we should all continue to pray what is on our heart. Whether it changes God’s mind or not, it will certainly change our heart, and if we include in all of our prayers for the grace to accept His answer, regardless of the out come, we will be closer to Him and have a peace that can only come from our God.
Thank you for your question … as you can see, it has brought me a little closer to my Savior.

Leave a Reply

